We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel interior designed by a miliner?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The g Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The g Hotel Galway to your Saves list
The g Hotel Galway
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellpark, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Salmon Arm
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Hotel interior designed by a miliner?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What can you say about this place other than "Wow"? The interior was purportedly designed by a milliner, and the hotel (another product of the heady "Celtic Tiger" day) is nothing if not, uh, flamboyant. From the garish faux-Versaille pink sitting room to the dark halls lit with dim baseboard lamps to the retro toggle light switches and leopard-spotted ironing board, this is a place you will like, find amusing, or hate. I was in the middle category. The breakfast was a huge plus -- well prepared and surprisingly varied (how about poached cod with bechamel sauce?). The staff was great, especially the wonderfully helpful, knowledgeable maitre-d, Noel. A 15-minute walk from downtown Galway, it is easily reached by car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you found the hotel to have the Wow factor and that you enjoyed the unique décor and ambiance of the hotel. We appreciate that your opinion of the hotel’s design is based on personal preference. Our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s receives constant praise and our Food and Beverage team were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience.

Our team were also pleased to be mentioned in your review. Lastly it was lovely to read that you found the location of the hotel to be beneficial for visiting Galway. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the g again very soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    357
    189
    79
    34
See reviews for
128
1,042
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were given a 3 night stay by my parents as a wedding gift. We arrived at 4pm to be told that the room was not ready yet, we thought this was a bit too late to have to wait for a room, by 4.30pm it was ready. My Dad had emailed the hotel to tell them we were newly weds, having been married the Friday before.
They responded stating they would add this to the booking and reservation.
We were given complimentary tea/coffee as we waited for the room

The room was fabulous, light and airy with a gorgeous bathroom, it was spotless.

the hotel itself is about 15mins walk from Galway city and we thought it was a great location, bit weird thats its amongst a shopping retail park but didnt really matter as the view from the front is nice, out onto the Lough etc.

We rang down to ask about dinner and booking and they told us there was no need, we then came down for dinner at 7.30 and we were greeted by the duty manager who told us we should have booked, we told him we rang down and his response was loads of people must have booked after we rang - thats no good to us.
He told us we would have to wait 45mins and we were in the bar ordering a drink and then he came in and said there was a table free - when we went into the restaurant, it was pretty empty anyway and while we were in there, not every table was taken so that annoyed us about being told we would have to wait.
Manager asked us why we were on a break and we told him we got married the week before, he congratulated us but to be honest, we thought a 5 star hotel may have given us a dessert or something, nothing.

My parents were pretty annoyed that nothing had been done for newlyweds so they rang the reception and spoke to Virginia. We were sitting in the bar at this stage and I saw the duty manager take a call from the reception I believe as straight away he came down with 2 glasses of champagne and just put them down and said "Those for you you's" with what we thought was a bit of an attitude. Virginia had told my parents on the phone that a letter would be put through our door in our room but got nothing.

The bar/lounge area is pretty cool. We just went to the bar as table service we learned over our stay is extremely slow and most of the time we had to get up to ask for service

Breakfast the next day was also a disappointing experience. We were seated and our waitress took our beverage order. We had a full menu option with our stay and we waited 25mins before having to ask the manager to take our order, she then spoke to our waitress who not once came back to our table to clear or see how everything was - she went to all her other tables
The food was delicious both for dinner and for breakfast and couldnt fault it but for one thing which happens in all hotels. the toast is brought out before your food and ends up freezing cold and hard when breakfast arrives

The next day we spent 2 hours in the relaxation suite of the spa. this was amazing and its great you can go in without having any treatments for a small fee and use the sauna, steam room, balneotherapy style pool with pressure jets etc and tropical showers. loved it and staff were the friendliest here.

All in all we didnt feel it was 5 star service, having got marred in Killashee House Hotel, we couldnt believe the difference in service between the two.

G Hotel need to train their waiting staff to be more efficient, we watched a breakfast waitress take 10mins total to lay a table, using tiny little trays to bring things backwards and forwards-while people are waiting to be seated for breakfast

we felt the duty manager wasnt so friendly and we definitely felt that they chose based on appearances and age who to treat with more respect than others

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I recently stayed in the hotel with my 13 year old daughter who is inspired by design and imagination. She loved everything about the hotel - from the design of the bedside lamps and doorknobs to the use of colour and lighting throughout. The G is more than a place to stay it is an injection of imagination and colour.

We loved being treated to the yummy muffins decorated with the letter "g" which were left in the room for us. We loved the comfort of the duvets and the mattress. We loved being fussed over at breakfast and to sleep in longer because breakfast finished at 11am due to it being mid term.

I didn't like being asked for a €50 refundable "deposit" because I preferred paying cash and happened to arrive without a car. The location beside a busy road is a bit disappointing though the hotel is easy to find from the train station - a 20/25 min walk.

A very memorable stay which I would recommend and hope to repeat myself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the g earlier this month. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all in Galway and we were delighted with how much you enjoyed the design and décor of the hotel. Our arrival cupcakes are one of the many little touches that make staying in the g so memorable and it really was lovely to read that you enjoyed them and the comfort of your bedroom.
At check in we ask all our guests for a credit card to guarantee their stay. If a guest wishes to settle by cash we take a deposit which is refunded at the end of your stay. This is the hotel policy.
Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable an occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent another idyllic weekend in Galway staying at the G Hotel. This, I think, was our 3rd or 4th visit in as many years and, as always, delighted us with it's quirkiness and comfort. The location is not the best located adjacent to an indifferent mall it's but very easy to find on the road in from Dublin - just take the road towards the dock area and you'll see it on the right as you approach Lough Attalia. We had breakfast on both our mornings there and the quality and quantity was simply outstanding as was the service. Whilst it is a bit out of the city centre, a brisk 20 minute walk will get you to Eyre square and all the delights of lovely Galway city. And if you're feeling to lazy to walk back after dinner, a short taxi ride does the trick. I wouldn't dream of staying anyplace else in Galway. The G Hotel has become our Galway hideaway. We'll be back in 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seem quieter although they overlook the mall car park so if it's a view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for returning to us at the g for a weekend away. It was lovely to read that you have become a loyal guest of the hotel and that you will continue to visit us. Our Kitchen team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the quality of our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s.
We really do appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share a detailed description of your visit to the g on Trip Advisor for others to read.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the g in 2014.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in the G with my partner for two nights over the bank holiday in a standard room. its a beautiful hotel the breakfast and dinner were fantastic on both days. the service is excellent from reception to waiting staff, and a special mention to Elaine o Sullivan the spa therapist who is so professional at her job and I really enjoyed my facial with her, Noel at the desk in the spa was also very professional and friendly. the spa is absolutely beautiful and was the highlight of my stay here. I have to say I did expect the room to be a bit more "spectacular" given everything we have heard about the hotel but iv stayed in many other hotels in Ireland just as nice. all in all a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the g over the bank holiday weekend. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges. The entire team were delighted to be mentioned in your review, especially Elaine and Noel working in our Spa, ESPA at the g. We really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the g again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The downstairs bar rooms are very nice each decorated in a unique style. Hotel had a very boutique feel, corridors lit by floor lights and designer charisma the corners. Two delicious cupcakes with the hotel logo were waiting on arrival. Unfortunately I didn't have time to check out the plunge pool but had a very nice stay. Breakfast was of a good standard, the usual buffet faire.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel, especially our individually themed Signature Lounges. Our arrival cupcakes receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed them! We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again soon so you can experience our Thermal Suite first hand.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

You will see from the pics on the hotels website how much effort the company put in when building the hotel. All of the decor in the hotel is very unique and worth experiencing. Also, the spa has an option to visit the relaxation room, which consists of a hot tub with many jets, sauna and steam room for 10 Euros per hour. It was well worth it, a very cool experience. Free parking is available in the back, which is a plus. Internet was free and worked well, another plus. It's not an extremely short walk to town, but is a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at The g Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent visit to the g on TripAdvisor.We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us as well as the unique design of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. Our Thermal Suite in ESPA at the g is a must see for any visitor to the g and we were so pleased you found the time to visit it. All our overnight packages include complimentary overnight parking as well as complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed these benefits.
We really appreciate your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The g Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The g Hotel Galway

Address: Wellpark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The g Hotel Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g offers restful guestrooms, a luxury spa designed by ESPA, delectable dining options, state of the art conference facilities and a bespoke wedding venue.Exclusive 5-star hotel - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 luxurious guestrooms - Five-star service - Opulent spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & signature lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 120 delegates - Bespoke wedding venue. Selected as an AA 5-star Hotel and awarded 2 AA Rosettes for Culinary Excellence 2012/2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The g Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The g Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.