We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“climbed diamond hill, wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Connemara National Park

Connemara National Park
Letterfrack, Connemara, Co Galway, Galway, Ireland
353-95-41054
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Connemara National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$1,700*
and up
8-Day West of Ireland Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 162 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“climbed diamond hill, wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

what an experience, we had a wonderful climb, it wasn;t that busy on the way up, myself, husband and 2 cousins completed the round trip two and a half, three hours. challenging enough for us and great fun. the views were terrific and I was very proud of myself for achieving this climb.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    264
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Diamond Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

On our recent visit back to Connemara in mid March, my daughter and I decided to hike Diamond hill. It was on my list of things I wanted to do. My cousins daughter brought us there.
WOW!!!! is all that can be said! The climb was exhilarating to say the least!!! yes it's steep at the top BUT well worth the effort! and the views from the top are breath taking! The trails are very well maintained, the staff very helpful, cheerful and ready with advice...A great gem of a park for sure!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a beautiful area worth taking a tour or renting a car. We took the trip from Galway using Galway Tour Company, we loved the historical sites and stories. And you get a real sense of what Ireland is all about.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful in the sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a most amazing visit to this area of natural beauty. The scenery is stunning and the wildness and peace combine to make one relax.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Diamond was a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited the park three times in our 8 day visit out west. It was hard to get enough. We did climb the diamond and it was tremendous. Challenging enough to be exhilarating for the whole family (two fit middle aged adults and two teens) and so rewarding at the top. The Forest Loop is small and lovely, almost primordial with all the moss, and the lower diamond hike is well worthwhile for those who desire less of a climb or with less time. Absolutely stunning terrain. Plenty of locals getting their fitness in and we had the distinct pleasure of meeting them, along with interesting visitors, on each of our visits. Plenty of picnic areas, indoor and out, bathrooms, and a staffed visitor center with helpful guides and maps.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara National Park also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connemara National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.