We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors Must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Street

Quay Street
Galway City Centre, Galway, Galway, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 attractions in Galway
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Visitors Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just a must do is to walk along Quay St and then sit and people watch with a pint outside any pub .Its free entertainment and one of the best shows in Galway .Try to identify the nationality of those who pass by while you enjoy a guinness

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    125
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good and Bad in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had, in general, excellent meals in the main part of Galway. We definitely recommend Sunny's Pub, K.C. Blakes, and the Cupan Tae. But don't waste your time eating at the Quay's Pub. The food was bland, quite tasteless, the service was okay, but it was even more expensive than Sunny's, which had MUCH superior food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells, maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

perfect getaway...pubs, music and great shopping all on this little street...Quay Bar for music was sooooo much fun

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great pubs and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

great pubs and restaurants. We had a great time!
it's also right besides the main shopping street so we could combine some much-needed retail-therapy with a drink or a bite to eat!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tale of Two Cities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited twice on a Saturday. In the morning, there was a friendly atmosphere, and plenty to see and do. Walking around after dinner, I felt differently. Being a senior, I didn't feel comfortable with the young crowds gathering for a night out. Apparently the police staffing adjusts for the time of day. I don't recall seeing police in the morning, but they were obvious in the evening. My 4 is the average of a 5 and a 3.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Street also viewed

 

Been to Quay Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quay Street to your Saves list