We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Easy Walk to Quay St. and Sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Petra House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
29 College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Easy Walk to Quay St. and Sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Such a wonderful home just minutes from a variety of sites, restaurants, and pubs. Although, disclaimer, we're from a walking city, so the 15 minute walk to Quay Street for food/entertainment/tour kicking off points felt like nothing for us, but if that's not a walk you're comfortable with then you may want to try something closer to the busy part of town. Though I wouldn't recommend it. The room was small, smaller than the other B&B's we stopped by during out 9 day trip in Ireland. But it was so clean, and Frank provided everything we needed. He helped us on our way to set up a tour of the Aran Islands, and was just incredibly easy to approach whenever we had any questions. Tea and bottles of water in the room each day (something that not every place has surprisingly, and something that was wonderfully appreciated). it was the BEST breakfast we had all week. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
296
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent two nights at Petra House. Very homey environment. Frank was very helpful in providing information on things to do. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. Be prepared to walk about a mile to get to Quay street. Weather cooperated, so not a problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Another very nice B & B.Owner Frank was very helpful of everything we needed.Rooms were nice and bright with very comfy beds.Close to Quay St. where all the action is.Very nice breakfast in the morning.Good coffee with fresh cream.On sight parking and good value for 90 euro's a night with full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent two nights at this wonderful B&B early in October. The location is ideal, the house is immaculate and comfortable. The best part were the hosts! As previously mentioned, Joan's Irish breakfast is second to none. Frank made reservations for us at Moran's Oyster Cottage - a lovely thatched roof restaurant with a quaint interior, overlooking the weir - well worth a visit. Frank was very helpful and charming, to say the least! They make a perfect team. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We lucked out on choosing Petra House for our late Sept stay in Galway. This immaculate charming inn serving hearty gourmet breakfasts each morning was well situated in town. What we were most impressed with was the knowledgable and helpful innkeepers. Frank went out of his way to guide us .. restaurants, roads, destinations and more. You will not find a more cheerful and hospitable host. He and Joan clearly love running this lovely b&b.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this warm and beautifully decorated B&B hosted by Frank and Joan Maher. Everything about our stay was firs-class, from the well-appointed room overlooking the garden to the large and delicious breakfasts including Joan's freshly baked bread and scones. Frank and Joan are wonderful hosts, warm, helpful and friendly. I highly recommend their B&B. It's a great place to stay for seeing Galway City or as your home base while visiting Co. Galway. While there we visited Inishmore in the Aran Islands and walked the rocky path to the Wormhole along the cliffs east from Dun Aengus. Wow! This is worth seeing. Thank you, Frank and Joan, for a perfect visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights in the most wonderful B & B. The hosts Frank and Joan were very welcoming The house is spotless and the rooms had all the facilities you would need for a comfortable and pleasant stay. The breakfast is outstanding. It is freshly cooked and the brown bread and scones are freshly made by Joan daily. Joan very kindly on our departure baked me some bread to take home which was a lovely surprise. I would have no hesitation recommending this lovely B & B. It is in a great location, only minutes from city centre but most of all it is very well run. Frank and Joan are a great team. We had a most enjoyable stay and will be recommending this to all our friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House b&b
Petra House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.