We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“petra house bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Petra House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
29 College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“petra house bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely accomodation-warm welcome, walking distance to city centre. Beds orthopaedic and lovely quality bedding. Lovely breakfast. Will definitely return here! We stayed at a number of places in north west Ireland, and this was definitely one of the highlights

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
296
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I made a last minute decision to fit Galway into our 2 week trip and we found the Petra House through Trip Advisor reviews. Now that we have returned home and have had a chance to reflect on the several properties that we visited I can say that the Petra House was certainly one of the best. The quality of a property is a reflection of it's owners and in my 18 trips to Ireland I have not met a more gracious and helpful couple than Frank and Joan. They made us feel more like members of their family then guests and offered us many helpful hints to make our visit to Galway even more enjoyable.The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate and the common areas are tastefully appointed. Wonderfull breakfast with great selection.The location is a convenient walk into the heart of this vibrant city and off street parking is a plus. I would not hesitate to make Petra House my destination in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Junction, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a gem! Frank was a wondeful host, always there when we needed anything. He greeted us warmly and was helpful at every turn. The whole place is spotless and beautifully appointed. Breakfasts where delightful! Those all important recommendations? Frank's were spot on. Even the little details, like parking our car so it was pointed out and ready to be packed for a nice departure, were done for us. We hope to stay at Petra House again!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was roomy and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Frank is a great host. The house is beautifully appointed. Our breakfast selections yummy. Franks suggestions for dinner were right on. If we stay in Galway again (and we hope to) Petra House will be our b&b.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I don't know if "professional" is the right word to characterize this delightful B&B. Frank may not be all over the place, but he is right there if you need anything. His direction info actually saved us about half day on the road.The room is spotless and the bathroom conveniently desighed and well maintained. We had non of the flush problems mention in some of the previous posts. The breakfast is delicious. Love the tea! Will definitley return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a long day travelling, this was easy to find and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The host was helpful and gave us directions to where we needed to go. Maps and information were freely available and there was a computer for general use. It was an easy walk into the main town and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had travelling. Far too much for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Petra House and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was a bit small but it was clean and tidy and the bathroom was nice. It was quiet and we were able to sleep quite well. The B&B is in a long row of B&Bs a short walk from town. The breakfast was wonderful and Frank was the perfect host. Frank gave us advice that he must have given to hundreds of people before but he made it sound like we were the first people to ask. He provided us umbrellas for the rainy day and told us all about Irish hurling (there was a match going on while we were in town). The scones were to die for! I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House b&b
Petra House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.