We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park House Hotel to your Saves list
Park House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ruined Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here with my family for three nights, and the generally okay hotel was ruined by terrible service at check out. I had asked for more time to check out of the Hotel, at which point the surly girl at reception said I could have an extra 15 mins. I was not going to be able to make this considering that my baby was sick and needed to go into town for medicine and finish packing. As I went to collect my car my family where then harassed by rude managerial staff asking constantly when we would be gone, whilst it was obvious we were trying out best to leave. My wife also told me that the manager was looking down at my wife as she was Chinese. I think one think is certain - I would never stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. I understand there are check out policies and sometimes there are other parties waiting for a room - but why make two groups unsatisfied when you should manage the incomers experience later. Simple management ideas that would even expect at a 1 star hotel.

Room Tip: chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    419
    104
    36
    18
See reviews for
324
868
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've stayed at the Park House a few times and have always been impressed with the fantastic service, lovely rooms and great location. The rooms are really comfortable, the food is excellent, the price was reasonable (February stay, 2 people 109 Euros/night including parking and breakfast). I'm writing my first review because the service this time was exceptional - we were here for a family funeral and the staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. In the past we had stayed at Jury's - a good hotel. The Park House is much nicer and a better value when you consider breakfast, parking and the level of service. We'll never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I got to this hotel and wasn't offered any assistance with parking - I thought parking was valet? Then when checking in I was told there was a €12 extra charge for parking. What kind of hotel charges extra for parking? This is the first time that has even happened. This also wasn't indicated during my booking.

Pros:
Very clean hotel and room
Staff were pleasant
Perfect location

Cons:
Hidden and ridiculous extra charge
Room was quite small
Toilet needed multiple flushes
Stingy with the soaps/shampoos

Overall disappointed with this supposedly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carloway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This wonderfully located hotel just off Eyre Sq. is truly top notch. After a struggle to find the car park, the wonderfully efficient attendant Brendan took over and upon my return 20 minutes later had me beautifully parked. Kudos and many thanks Brendan.
This set the standard for what the Park House represents. The quality of service is outstanding from each and every member of staff from all across their various roles within the organisation.
Rooms top drawer, food and quality of service second to none, yet all accomplished while sporting a warm friendly smile.
In a time when we bemoan the quality of service on offer from other outlets, it's great to see that this little country can still provide the "traditional" Irish welcome and maintain it effortlessly.
That's what you get in this gem of an hotel.

Many thanks again to all concerned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was not expecting to find such a lovely hotel in the centre of this busy and vibrant city of Galway, Ireland but was very pleasantly surprised when we stayed there this week (Jan 2014). The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient, the food was first class and the bedroom was large and very comfortable. It is only a 2 minute walk to Eyre Square and minutes from the waterfront in the opposite direction. The only drawback was the parking is very tight and not easy to find on approach but the porter was very efficient and took my keys and found a spot for me during the night. Overall, top marks for quality, friendliness and value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The drive in was hard to find but once there it was well worth it. Greeted by a friendly valet and the desk people were just as pleasant. Surprised by the size of the room, very large and comfortable,granted our view was of a brick building but we were there to sight see and not stay in our room. Breakfast was excellent and had something for everyone. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Staff were excellent, professional and very helpful especially organising a table in the booked up restaurant when I hadn't booked! Add great food, perfectly clean and comfortable room. Not a 5 star hotel per sé, but very, very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Family Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.