We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park House Hotel to your Saves list
Park House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffs, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Just back from a couple of days in Galway, and wanted to endorse the comments about this hotel. Great location just a minute from the bus/train station, and a few minutes walk into the main part of town.
Helpful reception staff, great selection for breakfast, rooms comfortable and the bar area is very relaxing and just normal pub prices.
Would recommend if you are looking for something special, and hope to return one day.
Keep it up!!

  • Liked — Very relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    419
    104
    36
    18
See reviews for
324
868
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights for a quick weekend trip to Galway. We chose it for location but in all other respects we were pleasantly surprised.
The staff were always helpful and friendly, the hotel has a lovely homely atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble.
The room itself was pretty standard, very clean, had air con, tea making facilities, plenty storage. Lovely Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. Evening and morning newspapers delivered to your room. Free parking in multi storey car park next door and the hotel was just at the edge of Eyre Square and all the shops. The hotel bar and lounge area were nice places to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice on the menu and staff were always pleasant and attentive. Yummy croissants at brekkie :-)
For anyone looking for a modern funky hotel, this won't fit the bill, but sometimes the old style hotels are better and in this case, definitely so!

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — No leisure centre
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed two nights in March 08. Found this hotel to be the best of the trip. Staff was great, breakfast included in the rate of approximately 170 per night and free parking. Hotel is located near city center. Very nice room and amenities, restaurant and bar were good. All and all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Park House exceeded our expectations in all respects. It's in the center of town, a half block from the railroad station and Eyre Square, and offers very spacious, well-appointed accomodations, along with attractive public areas. Our rate included breakfasts and one dinner, all of which were excellent. The heart of the old town and its trad music pubs are just five minutes walk away, and the meeting place for tour busses to the Burren, etc., even closer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

An absolutely amazing 2 nights stay in the Superior Room complete with king size bed, gigantic en suite, dvd player, the works!!
Absolutely fantastic hotel, amazing attention to detail right down to the mint on my pillow each night. Spectacular room service, staff very helpful and considerate especially with our heavy bags. Breakfast (which we had via room service each day) was amazing, and arrived piping hot.
Right next to Eyre Square so a great base for touring the city or for trips further afield.
I don't think I could possibly say anything bad about the place.
We LOVED it!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

This was our 1st night in Ireland. Upon arrival we were greeted with tea and an assortment of fabulous pastries which we were told were baked there. The beautiful lobby with the statues and elegant sitting area's was a welcome sight. The flowers in the outside planters were in full bloom and added a much welcomed springtime view. The young man who helped us with our bags was very informative on what to see and do in the area and gave us some good tips and directions. Their restaurant is superb and our choice for dinner was an easy pic as we knew that they were known for their great cuisine. Jet lag prevented us from getting up in time for breakfast and I think that was one that we shouldn't have missed!!! The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to anywhere in center city Galway. We will return to this hotel.

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

It's interesting the mixed reviews from travelers who stay at the same hotel -- but we couldn't have enjoyed the Park House more. After a long, long day driving from Belfast through the midlands, we arrived at the Park House at about 6pm and were thrilled. Very kind and helpful front desk staff and our porter took care of our bags and parked our car for us (this was a huge benefit) then spent 10 minutes with us talking about restaurants and local sites.

Our room was huge with a great bed and a separate entry way with a place for our bags, coats, fafe, etc...and this wasn't even a suite! The bathroom was huge and we loved the heated towel rack!

As for location, it is right near everything -- the main shopping and dining area, Eyre Square, and a one minute walk to the hotel where we met our bus to Rossaveal docks for our Aran Islands trip. Galway is young, fun, attractive...great food, great pubs, and somewhere we will definately return. The Aran Islands (Inismore) is an adventure that you cannot skip -- what a day!

The Park House had a great dinner menu although we preferred to eat out in town. However, the bar was nice for a late night drink and their breakfast (included) was very nice with a great selection -- what a treat before a long day out exploring.

We very much enjoyed the Park House...clean, friendly, great rooms, excellent location -- not an inexpensive hotel but for what we received, how we were treated, and the location -- we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Near luxury accomodations, friendly service, location
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.