We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Night Porter was a disgrace!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skeffington Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Skeffington Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Skeffington Arms Hotel
28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Night Porter was a disgrace!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked a room with my friend.I asked for a twin room and I paid 60 euro.I told the receptionist we were going out as it was my friend's graduation night and she said that was perfect and the night porter would let us in if we buzzed at the door.I paid by card and then signed my details and my friend's details on a form.We then went to our room got dressed and went to the Skeff pub to meet our friends.We stayed in the Skeff until 2 o clock and then I rang the buzzer.I told the night porter we were returning to our room and I told him my name ,said our number and showed him my key.He then told me there was already a Michelle Dunne in the room and he closed the door in our faces.I rang the buzzer again and he did nt answer but I continued to ring it.He opened the door and I told him we had both keys there couldnt be anyone in our room!!!I told him both names .He asked for Id which we gave him.He told me there was no documentation saying it was our room but my friend saw he had a form with our names on it in his hand.She said it to him and he then said "fine you want me to go up and check if there are people in your room??"He got very angry with us and he kept saying "Are you sure?".I said of course I am if there are people in my room I want them out now ,This was not just because I wanted to go to bed but all our stuff were in that room including my friends ipad!!!He brought us up .He made a number of comments which were obviously hinting we had snuck people in but we hadnt and I dont understand why he thought we did because there were two beds in the room so the room was for two so there were just two keys and we had both keys!!We went to the room and the room was empty of course.He didnt even apologise he just said it was for your own safety ( which I dont understand because he was closing the door on two girls at 2 o clock in the morning and we actually had nowhere to go!!!).He just left then.I want to say there was a younger porter,a young lad who accompanied him up to the room and he was apologetic and he was very nice when I was obviously getting very anxious because I was terrified there were people in the room and they would have our stuff ( especially the ipad) gone.I want to make sure the Skeff know who the terribly rude night porter is but I do not know his name.He is bald and has black square glasses.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for taking them time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I would like to apologize on behalf of myself and the team that there were elements of your stay which you found disappointing.

I have reviewed your feedback whilst speaking to our night porter & also the member of staff on duty that night and I can appreciate how the actions of the night staff seemed inconvenient at the time however we are very conscious of the safety of all our guests. I am very sorry to read that you found our night porter to be rude this is not the norm as our night porter is has a high level of customer service. I and would be very grateful for the opportunity to apologise personally and to discuss your feedback as nothing was mention on check out to reception or myself the next day as this happened November 2013. If you would like to contact me our telephone number is 091 563173 and my email address is lisa@skeffington.ie .
I do hope that you have the chance to experience our normal excellent standards should you return.

Thank you once again for your review and I look forward to the opportunity to introduce myself and apologise in person.

Yours Sincerely,
Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    86
    24
    16
    16
See reviews for
25
108
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, I specifically used this hotel as they were the only one anywhere in Galway city that had SkySports in their bedrooms (important as NFL Divisional playoffs were on during my stay!) - I really think the hotel could advertise this more as it's a huge bonus for sports fans.
The location is ideal for anyone visiting Galway as it's smack in the heart of the city.
Overall really enjoyed my stay, couldn't fault a thing. Will be back!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Really good bar in the heart of Galway. Staff were very friendly and the Guinness was good. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there during my 2 visits this holiday!! I didn't try the food, but it looked good from what I saw.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had a great time with us.

I will pass your kind words on to all our team & I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights here, and were pleasantly surprised at almost every turn. While I understand that sometimes people have legitimately bad experiences, hotels, like other aspects in life, are what you make of it - Don't let the few negative reviews keep you from making a very good decision to stay at the Skeffington Arms.

The location is prime: 3 minutes walk from the train station (while carrying luggage....a lot of luggage). Smack in the middle of the town square. 10 minutes walk to Spanish arch. 3 minutes walk to the Latin Quarter....you get the idea.

We knew in advance that we would arrive at the hotel before the normal 3:00 check-in, as our train from Dublin was due to arrive at 1:30 PM, so we had requested an early check-in. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with smiles, professionalism, and a good dose of the famous Irish Hospitality. They took care of our early check-in quite handily, and assigned us a room on the second floor (Rm 212).

The room was definitely on the smallish side, in comparison to most American hotels, but was well-appointed. It was big enough for two people (with luggage....a lot of luggage), very clean, well stocked with coffees and a variety of teas, air conditioning/heat, safe, flat screen TV, nicely furnished....no complaints, at all. If you're looking for the 4 Seasons.....go stay at the 4 Seasons. If you're looking for a good hotel, with a great staff (and location), that provides everything you need and much more, stay at the Skeff.

The bathroom was small, but there was an endless supply of incredibly hot water, with good water pressure in the shower. The usual assortment of bathroom goodies (shampoo, lotions, and the like) were present on the bathroom counter.

The nice surprises continued with breakfast. (I definitely recommend booking a rate that includes breakfast.) Breakfast is served in the back of the adjoining pub. The atmosphere at the pub is unbeatable. The service from the breakfast staff is great. You're given a menu when you're seated, which has enough options to please anyone (I personally recommend the Full Irish....if you're still hungry after you eat it, then you're just not trying hard enough). There's also a table full of fresh baked breads and scones, homemade jams, smoothies, juices, parfaits, and other things that I forget.

Did I mention that the pub is frickin' amazing?! Quite possibly the single most amazing pub I've ever been in. It's a dark wood maze of staircases, multi-level floors, seating for the whole county, and plenty of local folks (of all ages) to talk with over a pint. Be warned...once you enter the pub, you may not want to leave. On the weekends the pub is a hot-spot, and does get very loud. We didn't have any problems with the noise, but you may wanna bring some earplugs.

The hotel staff, from reception to housekeeping, is great! Attentive and helpful. Always a friendly greeting. Always there to help with local info, suggestions, and to tend to your every need. In my opinion the staff really helps the Skeffington Arms stand out. The only problem we had during our stay (and I really mean, the only problem), was that the wifi became incredibly slow on one occasion, and, as I needed to send a few work related emails, I asked the staff for help, and they did absolutely everything they could to help me. (The wifi speed was very good at all other times). The staff at the hotel is also kind enough to loan you a power adapter, in case you forget to bring yours, like I did - just be sure to return it.

If you wanna have fun, at a fun hotel, in a fun location - the Skeff will do just fine. We will definitely stay here again, if we're fortunate enough for our travels to bring us to Galway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. There is a lot of noise on the weekends from the hotel pub. Addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Skeffington Arms Hotel as your base for your recent visit to the "City of the Tribes". What a lovely review ........are you free when we are writing our next brochure? It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback. .

I was delighted to read that you rated our staff so highly which thankfully is a regular refrain within our guest reviews. We do pride ourselves in good customer services and also offering our guests the very best of food from breakfast to dinner. Our team here at the hotel is among the friendliest out there, definitely something in the Galway water I think!! It is our ultimate goal to provide all of our guests with a high level of comfort and your kind comments really make all of the hard work worthwhile.

We are so fortunate with our location being right in the heart of Eyre Square in the middle of everything Galway has to offer.
Again thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts down on virtual paper!

On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, thank you for being our guest and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, thank you for being our guest and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when your travels allow.


Slan agus beannacht,

Lisa Nee

Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fab location, right in the heart of Galway. Great food and friendly staff. I stayed on business and I was really looked after. However, unless you are there to party, you might want to make sure you book a quiet room. Can be very noisy.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room unless you are there to party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Really nice place!! Food was lovely and nicely presented!! Good friendly atmosphere!! Staff helpful!!Recommend!!!Really good location situated in Eyre Square!! Appear to be famous for cocktails with a menu going through the different decades!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

just back from another stay at the skeff and i must say this hotel has always come up trumps,never had a bad stay here all the staff great rooms good food good service good what more could you ask for once again well done the skeff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeffington Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.