We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hen night - cocktail making lessons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skeffington Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Skeffington Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Skeffington Arms Hotel
28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The hen night - cocktail making lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A hug thank you to our fabulous cocktail maker and shaker - Mikey. Both bridesmaides hoping that our lovely sister (the hen) would enjoy her cocktail making session were delighted with the attention and humour Mikey provided throughout this evening. I secretly think my mum fell for Mikey and his charming ways!!!! :-) The whole party were in stitches lauging and of course sampling delicious cocktails at the same time, in a very relaxed atmosphere. We also got to put our own skills to the test and conjured up a few tasty and 'tangy' drinkies.I would highly recommend that you try this fun and interactive session as a starter to a great evening onwards. Thanks to the Skeffington Hotel and Micky of course. Our Zilla (the bride to be) left the Skeff beaming from head to toe :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, Eyre Square. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others. I’ll pass on all your wonderful comments to all our staff. Especially Mickey he will be delighted to hear some feed back.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Galway City soon.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    86
    24
    16
    16
See reviews for
25
108
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Place was clean, people were great. Excellent location. Good place to eat and have a Guinness. Convenient location. Park at the Metro across from the park for cheap money

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed in the 'Skeff' for a few days over Easter and really enjoyed our stay. Galway is a buzzing city and has something for everyone. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable by the friendly and helpful staff in the skeffington hotel. It is situated in the town centre, near to everything, very clean and GREAT food. Do try the scones for breakfast and the pancakes!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with our staff here at the hotel; I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our breads, scones & desserts are home made. I will also pass these comments on to our pastry chef Liz she will be delighted to hear some feed back.

We take great pride in making each of our guest’s experiences uniquely enjoyable and I am delighted to read that we made your weekend a pleasant visit to Galway City.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Galway City soon.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Returned to Galway and to my favourite hotel The Skeffington during the Easter holidays. After a few visits one feels like its returning home as the extra friendly staff greet you by your first name and I love the "thank Crunchie its Friday" complimentary bars to welcome you. Location cannot be beaten and neither can the delicious breakfasts with great home-made scones served until 11 and later in the bar if necessary where you can relax with your complimentary newspaper. A previous reviewer gave an unsavoury review which I think is grossly unfair. There is a nearby enclosed car park, covered by security and costs as little as 10 euro per night when they stamp your card at reception. We were en route from an overnight stay in a hotel in Clifden where we had to pay "Pay and Display" on the street for the day. This is pedestrianised Eyre Square, internationally famous Galway and a University town bursting at the seams with young people and tourists who are out enjoying themselves at the week end. If one is tired and wants door-step car parking, an early quiet night with no noise it may be better to stay outside the city. We are a couple in our 60's who love the buzz of the Skeffington Bar and being able to walk to shops, restaurants and activity packed Shop St within minutes. There is a set-down area where you can drop your bags and go and park your car safely. For the first time on this visit we ate in the bar and were delighted with the quality of the foot which is inexpensive. Thanks to all who make our visit special every time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, Eyre Square. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others. I’ll pass on all your wonderful comments to all our staff.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back over the summer months, lots to see and do in the City and The Skeffington Arms is ideal for your base right in the heart of the action.


Warm Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

oh and the staff is nice - otherwise, what a dump! Can't pull up in front of the hotel to drop off your bags and closest car park is more than 5 minutes away. No big deal? What about dragging luggage through the car park and across the square to the hotel? And trying to get info from the front desk on where the car park is? Drove around for 1/2 hour with the front desk sending me in circles. The place is so run down - the hallway carpets are all stained as are the walls. The room I'm in stinks of urine and the sink in the bathroom has a huge crack with the worst fix it job I've ever seen - would have been better to leave the crack. I read all the other reviews and decided to stay here and now I'm here to tell you - stay away! It's party boy/hen night heaven - so if you're young and want to drink your face off and just walk upstairs - go for it - but anyone looking for a half decent experience for a hotel in Galway - go somewhere else. So disappointed - after driving hours to get here from the south I'm in a 2X4 room that looks like a college dorm room. Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and taking the time to submit your review. I was delighted to read your comments about our helpful staff as we always place a high emphasis on customer care and also our location we are extremely central.

I was disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the room as our rooms are always cleaned to the highest of standards and we have never had any issues with cleanliness in the past. As we are a City Centre Hotel and like most hotels in the city we unfortunately do not have a car park adjust to our hotel. We do give a map of the car park attached to confirmation letters as to where we are located. Our street is pedestrianised from 11.00am until 6.00am. I was specking to the receptionist who was dealing with you on the phone and she did try her best to give you step by step direction’s to the car park. Apologies if you didn’t find these helpful we do try our best to give the best directions to the car parks. 100% Guest Satisfaction is very important to us and we aim to get this right with every guest I am saddened if we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion.
Should you wish to stay in Galway again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel on lisa@skeffington.ie and I will make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in The Skef as we were attending a function in Galway and wanted a very basic room for a night but we got much more that we bargained for. Check-in was extremely quick and efficient (why can't all hotels be like this?). On entering the room I immediately realised I had the wrong impression of this hotel. The room was lovely- very spacious and comfortable with a hint of luxury. We had more than enough room which a lot of hotel bedrooms lack. The room was spotless and the bathroom was gleaming. The bathroom was really lovely also.We didn't have any dealings with any staff other than the receptionist who, as well as being very efficient, was very welcoming and pleasant without going overboard. Would not hestitate about returning and have recommended this hotel to many

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Skeffington Arms Hotel and thank you also for your very valued feedback. It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback.

All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us recently and your positive comments regarding the comfort of the hotel rooms and indeed the professionalism are all very welcome.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel

The Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Skeffington, over two stays, and in two different rooms, and both were excellent, especially for the rate we paid. Neither was expansive in size, but more than adequate, with modern bathrooms and showers. Very clean and comfortable, with LCD television. Individual heaters and very nice closet space. We particularly enjoyed the tea and biscuits in the room, especially when we slept in our first evening in Ireland and missed dinner! The breakfast room is lovely, with views of Eyre Square, and very substantial portions. Totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Galway City. I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of your stay here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel .Your comments in relation to the quality of our facilities and service are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our team here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeffington Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.