We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and terrific hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardawn House to your Saves list
Ardawn House
31 College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and terrific hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family group of 5 truly enjoyed spending 2 nights at Ardawn House with Breda and Mike. Both were welcoming and friendly--and they put on an awesome, generous breakfast with high quality, locally sourced foods. Breda has a way of making her whole establishment feel classy yet accessible. Afternoon tea with biscuits was a nice way for guests to get to know one another after a day of sight seeing or shopping. Galway is a wonderful city to explore, and Ardawn House is a great location from which to find music, great shopping, Irish history, and fun people. The rooms are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Our family had both double and triple rooms. Large, comfortable with good bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    57
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
106
155
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here two nights and were looking forward to leaving after the first night. We were greeted by host, Mike. He was in a grumpy mood and not very welcoming. The room we had was dated and the walls in this place are very thin. We could hear goings-on above, below and across very narrow hall. The stairs to rooms above ground floor were narrow and creaky - we were awakened several times by people coming-in after a late night out. The breakfast was fine, but the overall experience was not very positive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Midwest, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of 3 stayed at the Ardawn House in Galway for 6 nights in early July 2014, having arrived by train from Dublin. The train station and bus depot are only a short 10 minute walk to the inn. Mike was there to greet us, explain the city's layout, recommend day tours, and check us into our room. Our room overlooked the front of the inn. The room was quite large and the bathroom, which can be tight in Europe, was more of an American lay out. Beds were comfortable and noise from other rooms was minimal. Because the inn is on a main road in Galway, it can be noisy until around midnight, with buses and lorries driving by. However, simply closing our window quited most of the noise. We never had a problem sleeping. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the back garden.

We met Mike's wife, Breda, the next morning at breakfast. She is your server, and also an excellent source of information. Don't miss the breakfast. Several choices of meals, all excellent, coffee, several juices, cereals, and fresh fruit. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea and cookies are always available in the front lounge.

We spent our time in Galway walking around the historic town, walking on the beach, shoppping of course, listening to Irish music in the pubs and dining at many of the fine restaurants. For Italian, try La Trattoria on the High St. and for pub food, try The Front Door, also on the High St. The pub grub here is great by the way.

Day tours to Connomara (Kylemore Abbey) and The Cliffs of Mohrer/The Burren were booked by phone thru Galway Tours. They are great. Ask if Michael O'Malley is your driver. He did an excellent job. Michael Faherty's Aran Island Tours do an excellent job of transport to and touring the Aran Islands. We did the large island of Inishmore.

Our stay in Galway was wonderful, and we plan to return to Ireland in the near future to see other parts of the country, but we will return to Galway. I highly recommend staying at the Ardawn House with Mike and Breda. They are the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back garden side of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night, our room was a bit shabby, tiny dark bathroom with tight shower. Our room faced a very busy street with lots of noise. The owner Breda is very nice, and the breakfast was fine, but the whole place needs updating. The couple we were with, had a room on the top floor, and the rain banged on the skylight all night. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My cousin and I took our wives on a tour of Ireland. We stayed in two hotels in the major cities and bed and breakfasts between. We stayed at the Ardawn House for three delightful nights, enjoying the hospitality of our hosts Mike and Breda. The breakfasts were delicious, offering wonderful options. Our room was clean and comfortable and the walk to town was easy. We saw more of Breda who was a wealth of information and suggestions for exploring the area.
Jay and Kaye

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Pros:
Room was clean
owners were extremely nice and helpful
5 minute drive to downtown
nice tea selection
over looks rugby game(which my teenagers liked)
breakfast was homemade
cons:
toilet took several minutes to flush
breakfast was good but there was limited options
room could use updating
small bathroom

The owners were Very kind and treated us like family

Room Tip: Ask to be on the rugby court side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here in early June 2014 for 2 nights. The facilities are very nice, the room spacious, comfortable and clean. The hosts, Mike and Breda, very welcoming and friendly. Upon arriving at the B&B, Breda gave us the "low down" on what to see and do in Galway, pulling out a map and marking restaurants and scenic walks.

The B&B is located a solid 10-15 minute walk to down town Galway, but it is completely do-able and we did just find with the trek both day and night.

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and, to be honest, the street noise was rather loud. We were awakened numerous times, but were able to fall back asleep quickly.

We would stay here again and would recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Address: 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardawn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.