We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galway for a night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forster Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forster Court Hotel to your Saves list
Forster Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Street, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Galway for a night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Forster Court Hotel on March 18th 2013, took the train from Dublin and got in around 10 am, the hotel is located a block away from the train station and when we walked in we were greeted immediately by a very friendly front desk receptionist. He informed us that our room wasn't ready yet, but that we could store our luggage there since we were taking a tour of the Cliffs of Moher. When we got back later that evening check-in was a breeze, the room was amazing, and the front desk staff was superb they answered everyone of our questions (we had a lot). I can't say enough great things about this hotel, if you have a choice of hotel in Galway, STAY HERE! It is perfectly located near the train station and bus station and is walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsterCourtHotel, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Brian S,

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback and review on trip advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful expierence in Galway.We hope that you had an enjoyable and memorable expierence here with us and would hope that you would return to us here at the Forster Court Hotel when your travelling in the future.

Yours Sincerley,
Siobhan Doyle
Front Office Manager
Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    310
    83
    37
    9
See reviews for
105
391
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a stag in Galway. Stayed at the Forster Court. Couldn't fault it. Friendly staff, rooms were a good size and clean, good food, great location, stag/hen-friendly and good late bar the Saturday night. Stayed here a few years ago too. Will be back next time in Galway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsterCourtHotel, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Frandiver,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Forster Court Hotel.
Our team are delighted to take care of any groups and parties that join us here. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we hope we made your stay as care-free and easy as possible. We certainly hope we will see you here again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Siobhan Doyle
Front Office Manager
Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes, I liked this Hotel. I would best describe it as warm, clean and cosy, a boutique hotel. Close to the square and city centre walking distance, Not suitable for families as in no poo, play area etc. Parking is discounted at 50% with local parking company which was resonable as hotels who proivide free parking are generally out of the city meaning taxi !. Go ahead and book this hotel you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Second time staying here and found on both occasions all rooms to same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Glenn,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. Im very glad to hear you found our rooms to be cozy and comfortable and am delighted to hear that you found our location right in the city center, as well as our reduced guest car parking, to be a convenience for you during your stay with us.

I do hope we will get to welcome you back to Galway in the near future.

Kind regards,

Siobahn Doyle- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My second time to stay at this hotel and once again, it was noise that ruined it for us.

First the good ... great location, lovely pleasant staff, attention to detail, excellent breakfast and a well appointed room

Excellent WiFi and a strong signal

The hotel has a special rate for parking in a nearby Multi Storey car park

Now the not so good .. noise from outside of people shouting during the night


I had per-booked and a day or so before arriving called to ask for a room in a quiet part of the hotel. I spoke with "Paul", he was efficient, knowledgeable, helpful and very polite

We were given room 310, which was away from the front of the hotel but appeared to look over the bus station at the back. We were awoken on more than one occasion during the night be people shouting and talking loud., To be honest, we could not decide if they were in a room below or above us or actually out on the street

Only other negative, was the heat in the room.. which left me baffled, as the heater was not on., yet, the room was very stuffy and warm.. even leaving the window open, which only opened a few inches, I assume for safety reasons

Overall though, a nice hotel with superb staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Flame01,

First off please let me thank you for submitting a review of our hotel, we very much appreciate any guest feedback and find it very informative.

In relation to your issues with noise, I do apologise if you found yourselves disturbed at any point during your stay. We do try our very best to allocate our guests away from any potential sources of noise, hence allocating you on our third floor, however as we are located right in the heart of Galway this can sometimes prove difficult with the hustle and bustle of a busy city center.

Once again I apologise if you found yourselves disturbed but I do sincerely hope we will get the oppertunity to welcome you back to Galway in the future.

Kindest regards,

Siobhan Doyle- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just love the Forster Court hotel - this was my third stay and it is quickly becoming a home from home. The staff are ultra professional but also extremely personable - good humoured and all seem to be enjoying their work,. Special mention to our lovely breakfast waitress( blonde friendly girl) who was a delight. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, the breakfast freshly cooked and of a very high quality (no chain hotel festering buffet here), location is great and the other guests all seem really cool and good fun too. I'm back with my friends at the end of the month and looking forward to it already - well done FC - a lovely experience every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
HI Fay0210,

Let me just say I am absolutely delighted to read your reiew and to see that you once again enjoyed your stay. I think it's a real tribute to our hotel and all of our fine staff that you've returned to us not twice but three tiems with a fourth on the way.

Thank you very much for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next month.

Kindest regards,

Siobhan Doyle - Front Office Manager

I just love the Forster Court hotel - this was my third stay and it is quickly becoming a home from home. The staff are ultra professional but also extremely personable - good humoured and all seem to be enjoying their work,. Special mention to our lovely breakfast waitress( blonde friendly girl) who was a delight. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, the breakfast freshly cooked and of a very high quality (no chain hotel festering buffet here), location is great and the other guests all seem really cool and good fun too. I'm back with my friends at the end of the month and looking forward to it already - well done FC - a lovely experience every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly as we've found everywhere in Ireland. But, this room is extremely small. I've had larger accommodations in hostels. Lamps only bedside: not one to even sit and read a paper. Very poor for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Deskmoore,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at the Forster Court Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly. We have a great team here and your feedback is very much appreciated. I am disappointed to hear that you found your room to be small. Our rooms would be very much the standard size for our hotel rating category in Ireland. If I had been aware of your need for an additional lamp I could have of course arranged this for you. Should you return to the Forster Court Hotel in the future I would ask that you contact us directly and I will ensure that you are assigned as large a room as possible.

I sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and that you had a safe journey home to South Carolina.

Yours Sincerely,

Siobhan Doyle

Front Office Manager
Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just had a group there over the weekend. The staff were really friendly and genuinely engaging and funny. We got some great deals and the whole weekend went really well.

Thanks very much to all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Front Office Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear David F.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us as the Forster Court Hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you all to the hotel and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us! Your feedback is very much appreciated. To hear that you found our team of staff to be friendly and engaging means so much to the team. I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Siobhan Doyle
Front Office Manager
Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel

Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Forster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forster Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.