We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but a good hotel if you're visiting Galway City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forster Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Forster Court Hotel to your Saves list
Forster Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Street, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not perfect but a good hotel if you're visiting Galway City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend break in Galway staying at the Forster Court Hotel in the heart of the city. It’s a basic, no frills, 3 star hotel which doesn’t have it’s own car park but more on this later.

Our room was of adequate size, tastefully decorated in warm colours and ambient lighting. It was spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable double bed, a small table and two comfortable chairs, a wall mounted TV with a good number of channels, tea and coffee making facilities which included gorgeous biscuits (which were replenished daily). The bathroom was also clean with a power shower over the bath and had a good supply of toiletries and towels. While a few of the floor tiles were cracked in our bathroom, this did not annoy us too much as the cracks seemed to have been grouted in and the edges were not sharp. Free Wi-Fi was available but I found this difficult to access on my smartphone and laptop and only managed to get internet access once for about 20 minutes during our stay.

Breakfast was cooked to order and was lovely (although soft poached eggs were hard poached on both mornings) and there was a good variety to choose from. Breakfast is served all day which was a nice touch and something I had never heard of before. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

We had a meal in Elwood’s Bar and Grill within the hotel on one of the nights. This restaurant is tastefully decorated although the seating arrangement means you’re either facing into the centre of the room or facing into the wall. We had to select from the Table d’Hote menu because of our particular package which was somewhat restricted in choice. The food was quite good although my mashed potato was cold. It was probably sitting on my plate while my rib-eye cooked which incidentally was a very nice steak. We were a little disappointed that the bar had run out of bottles of Shiraz to have along with our meal although the manager did offer us a complimentary glass of Merlot each.

Now for the parking. The Forester Court has no private parking and if you do decide to take the car you will have to park in the multi-story car park at the back of the hotel. The normal fee for this is €20 per 24 hours which equates to €40 for our 2 night stay. However, the hotel will give you 50% off the parking. Simply hand your ticket to the receptionist when you arrive and they will punch a hole in it which will be recognised by the pay machine as 50% off – that’s €20 for 2 nights. This may sound like a lot but I thought it was good value. If we had stayed in a hotel outside of the city then we would have had to have paid car parking charges if we had taken the car into the city or we would have had to pay a taxi in and out of the town. The Forster Court Hotel is right in the heart of the city close to Eyre Squire and within easy walking distance of Shop Street and the many bars and restaurants to be found in this vibrant town.

We had a fantastic time in Galway and the Forster Court Hotel is perfectly situated to make exploring this city accessible and fun. While it’s a basic enough hotel, it has everything you’ll need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and it’s location is perfect if you’re looking somewhere for a city break. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Forster Court Hotel and I have no doubt that we will be staying here again in the future as we still have so much more to see and do in Galway City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Wildtracker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. As you mentioned, one of the highlights for our hotel is the ideal location right in the heart of Galway City and we are nestled right between both of the bus stations and the train station for easy access. Unfortunately, if you are driving, it is the case that this close to the city center there is no free car parking available but Im delighted that you found our 50% guest discount to be good value.
Im sorry to hear your notes about the restaurant choices as in Elwoods Bar & Grill we try to offer a broad selection on both our A la Carte and Table d'Hote menus. I am however very glad to hear that you enjoyed your steaks. Our kitchen pride themselves on using the best quality ingredients and Im very glad this has come through in your dining experience.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you both back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    297
    78
    35
    8
See reviews for
99
373
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is their photographer! The impression from their website is of a smart, stylish hotel. The reality is that the rooms, corridors etc. are cramped and soulless. The staff are pleasant and the food was tasty. However, we had three cleanliness issues in the restaurant during our short stay. Our complaints were dealt with adequately. However, it was very off-putting. Overall, the hotel is hard to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Rasherrua,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Im very sorry to hear your thoughts about our hotel feeling "soulless". Here at the Forster Court Hotel we strive to offer a warm, welcoming environment for all our guests and this something which has been commented on over and over by other reviewers. I am indeed sorry you didnt feel that way during your stay with us.
I do appreciate your comments about our staff being pleasant. It is their friendly, open attitude that helps to further provide the kind of service that makes us so popular.

I sincerely hope we get to change your mind and welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a fantastic location in Galway city just off Eyre Square. It's right beside the bus and train stations and while it doesn't have its own car park there is an indoor car park nearby with discounted rates for guests of the hotel. The rooms are very nice, spotlessly clean with everything one needs on a city break. The public toilets downstairs are similarly spotless and well maintained. The food in both the bar and restaurant are delicious and breakfast goes on all day and is freshly cooked, unlike many 4* and 5* hotels. However it is the staff who make this place special, every one of them has a "can do" attitude and and they all seem proud of the place they work and rightly so. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Galway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
HI Pride&predjudice,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to all our members of staff. We are very proud to have such a friendly, professional group of people on our staff and they work extremely hard to make sure all our guests enjoy the very best of Galway.

Again I want to thank you for your review and I hope we will get the chance to see you back in our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in the Forster Court last September and I was delighted with the whole experience. First of all it was great value. The room was really nice and well laid out with good tea/coffee facitities, a comfortable bed and great black out curtains.
Service is what usually makes the difference for me, all things being equal, and it was excellent. Nothing was a problem and almost every member of staff we encountered was chatty, friendly and prepared to go that extra yard to make sure we were well looked after. The location is ideal for anyone looking to take advantage of the many pubs and shos in the city centre, being just a minute from Eyre Square. Highly recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
HI Bofinireland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delights you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful. Our staff at the Forster Court work very to make sure all of our guests enjoy a warm, welcoming atmosphere and get the most out of their stay.

Thank you again for your kind words. We sincerely hope to once again welcome you back to Galway in the future.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This was my 5th time to stay here and we will be back.we got an excellent deal for the weekend. Pros: excellent location only a short stroll to nitelife and shopping.its also genious to offer an all day breakfast so we didnt have to rush 1st thing in the morning - a definite perk!the staff are all v nice and friendly from bar to restaurant.room was spotless. The only con is food in restaurant could be improved.the fish 'cakes' were awful, main not bad and dessert just ok, not memorable..note the breakfast is excellent though. Overall we had a great weekend so thanks to all at hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
HI IrishGirls,

I just want to thank you for your very kind words. I am very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your previous stays in our hotel and we are indeed very grateful for your return custom. Im particularly pleased to hear that it was our more unique selling points like our location and delicious all day breakfast that convinced you to return again. I am sorry to hear your comments about your evening meal, we generally get quite positive feedback to our menu in the restaurant and I do hope we'll get the opportunity to make a new impression on you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really friendly & helpful staff. Really lovely room & breakfast which you can choose to have whatever time you please. Checkout between 12-1pm. Location was fantastic for everything you want to see in Galway & parking was only 10 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Naomi,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. We always aim to provide our guest with a warm and open atmosphere, to be professional and at the same time provide that friendly personal touch and I am very glad that has come across. I do hope we get the chance to welcome yo back to Galway City again very soon.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spend two nights in Galway in February 2013 and we loved it. Great little hotel right near downtown Galway. We were able to walk to most of the city centre. The bar/ restaurant downstairs was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We found out when we arrived that it was rag week which made for some wild sites but none the less we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Natescook,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay. As I have mentioned in numerous responses, we are very lucky to be so centrally located in the city. Galway is an amazing city and always seems to have something to offer visitors, no matter what time of year they travel. Also it being a university town there is never any shortage of youthful energy and atmosphere.

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel

Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Forster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forster Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.