We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forster Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Forster Court Hotel to your Saves list
Forster Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forster Street, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I took my fiance to Galway for her 30th birthday from Sunday 30th Sept - Tuesday 2nd Oct and it proved a great hit!

The hotel was perfect and in a great location. The rooms were clean, well decorated and very comfortable.

We booked Bed & Breakfast and it was excellent value for money!!

But the hotels best feature was the staff - always willing to offer advice on restaurants, activities, entertainment and information in general. Galway and Forster Court are definitely on the list of places to re-visit!!!

Room Tip: swimming pool and fitness centre n/a!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    297
    78
    35
    9
See reviews for
99
373
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Two senior women, touring on our own and using the fabulous Ireland bus transportation, needed a hotel we could walk to from the terminal. This hotel was not only in the perfect location, but met our needs. I highly recommend it!!! The tour buses also are based there, so an easy walk for all our tours. Great pub with music across the street and restaruants galore. What a fun town!

Room Tip: We were on the thrid floor down two halls in the back almost to the end. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Paradise44

Thank you for your review. We are extremely lucky to have such a central location with easy access to the two bus stations, train station and not to mention all the amenities Galway has to offer. Im so glad we could accomodate you on your travels and hope we get the oppertunity to do it again in the future.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the Forster Court last Friday 21 September. We stayed for 1 night B&B. It was excellent value for money compared to other options in the locality. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very nice. I would stay again next time I visit Galway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi CiaraB,

Im delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to provide great value for money as well as a high standard of customer service and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Niall Coffey- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good hotel - would recommend.
when we first checked in we were given a room that smelt of smoke but they quickly found us another one.
Galway is a wonderfully relaxed town but does get it fair share of stag parties - on our saturday night we had a noisey group return to the room next door - but once again a quick phone call to reception and they came and sorted it out.
These things can happen - its how well they are dealt with.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Galway is absolutely amazing and if you're traveling to Ireland a stopver here is a must! This hotel was pretty darn close to perfection. There was quite a mix up with rooms and keys upon check in (we were given a room key and went to open the door and the room was already occupied), so after 3 attempts they finally got us in a great little room with a balcony overlooking the street. The bed was awesome and the room was larger than most. Note that there are no safety deposit boxes at many hotels in Ireland. The location of this hotel is perfect. We landed up spending two nights here as we were so happy with the area and the people. A must drive is the Cliffs of Moher which is about an hour away but definitely worth seeing. You do get a full Irish breakfast at this hotel as well which was very very good. There happened to be a stagette the weekend we were there and yes, it was quite noisy in the room next to us, so we just headed across the street to one of the many Irish pubs and by the time we got back there was not a problem sleeping cause Mr. Guinness helped solve that situation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear tagestsetter

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We a 3* Hotel Located in the Heart of Galway City, Just off Eyre Square, we strive to provide good quality food and service at an affordable rate and to be recommended as ‘almost perfect’ is just fantastic. I delighted to got to avail of our popular all day breakfast on both mornings and that you had a chance to take in the local tourist spots, and you got to experience just how wonderful Galway City’s Nightlife is. We hope to welcome you back to the Forster Court Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes From all the Team,
Niall Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to the rail station, bus station and the pedestrian walkway in Galway. We were very pleased with the modern appearance of the hotel, the service and the price. Also a convenient parking garage behind hotel (discounted charge). Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Terry066

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Indeed the Forster Court Hotel is in a Fantastic Location here in the Heart of Galway City, right next to the Bus and Train Station and just a stones throw away from the famous Shop Street. The City Centre Car Park is Located directly behind the hotel and we are delighted to offer a 50% reduction on the rate to all our Customers. It was great to read that you enjoyed all the comforts our modern rooms have to offer. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Best Wishes From All the Team
Naill Coffey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed here from 14th-17th sep, the moment we arrived staff were very friendly and helpful
(even tho we had had a drink while travelling!) cant fault a thing about hotel clean, nice, beds very comfy, and nothing was too much for the staff. bfast the best i have had in hotel and being all day we didnt have to rush in morning, which was a bonus!!! spent the whole night on friday in the bar till the early hours and the atmosphere was great sing song all night! big shout out to james and kevin and fergal the barstaff they were great even tho there head was prob thumping!!!!! great place would defo go back ( thats if they would have us!!!!)

Room Tip: we had 2 tripple rooms and there was plenty room for 3 to get ready at night we faced the bus statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear LynseyP

Thank you so much for taking the time our to write such a fantastic review for the Forster Court Hotel. It was so great to hear you enjoyed all the comforts our rooms had to offer. All your kind comment about our staff was wonderful to read and ill be sure to show your review to James, Kevin and Fergal who are only too happy to serve all our customers in our residents in our Lounge Bar. We strive to offer our guest the best of quality and comfort and to create a relaxing atmosphere. Indeed we do offer our very popular ALL DAY BREAKFAST to all our guest so that they can relax in the morning time and to provide a good start to their day. We hope to Welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes from All the Team.

Niall Coffey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forster Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel

Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Forster Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forster Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.