We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Bernie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey View

Save Saved
You added Abbey View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey View
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Thank you Bernie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very lovely place. A long travelday and Bernie was very friendly. The Email contact is also very good. Bernie is very fix with her replies. She can give very good tipps for your journey. I would come back when I visit Ireland again.

Thanks a lot Bernie

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Abbey View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Galway.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
42
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great location on a major road leading into Galway. It is a 5 minute drive into the city centre, and Bernie knew exactly where to get the best parking. The house is situated well off the road, so road noise was never an issue. Breakfast was great, and Bernie was over-the-top accommodating. Also, the location is such that you can have driving excursions to the Aran Islands and Connemara without having to go through the Galway traffic. Unless you REALLY need to stay downtown, stay here instead. One item of note; the rooms don't have a TV, but the WiFi signal was strong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was the most heartfelt welcome and service I ever had while traveling. After a good breakfast I received the best 'insider advice' for day trips. Then, when I returned, tired and full of new experiences after a long day out, I was greeted with a lovely cup of tea. The evenings were filled with interesting conversations by the fire place. I will be happy to return there, to me it was a home away from home.

Eire sa gra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, General Manager at Abbey View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi .
Thank you for taking time to review my bed and breakfast. I could tell you were having a lovely time visiting the area. I enjoyed our chats in the evening .Hope to see you in Galway again.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have asked for more! This b&b is exactly what you are looking for when it comes to charm and hospitality. Bernie is such a gem of a host; she makes you a wonderful breakfast each morning and takes the time to get to know you. She will give you spectacular advice on where to go and what to see, and always makes sure that you are completely comfortable and have everything you need. The entire house is extremely welcoming and makes you feel right at home the second you step foot in the door. You will not regret your stay here! Thank you Bernie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bernie is absolutely charming and always welcomes you with a cup of tea or coffee. We felt home from the first day to the last of our stay. Moreover, you can hire bikes in town (15 euros for a week!) and the city centre is only about twenty minutes away. We strongly recommend this B&B ! Adrien et Julie

Room Tip: Both seem lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice place with wonderful hosts! The hosts were extremely helpful, gave good advice for what to do in the surroundings, where to eat, and helped with all sorts of issues we had. Very good breakfast, we were offered tea and cookies right after we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We experienced a unique level of hospitality, warmth and genuine interest at Abbey View. We only had one night but wished we could have stayed much longer. The breakfast was very generous and nothing was too much trouble eg pancakes etc on top of a full breakfast. We were also given helpful directions and a map on leaving. Given the experience, the price was truly amazing. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Abbey View.

Marie and Jonathan (Dundee, Scotland)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Address: Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and HostelWorld so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.