We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Street Kitchen

The Quay Street Kitchen
Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
091865680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mayo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you want to go somewhere for a chat and good food this is the place to go. Great prices on the menu and staff are very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    146
    38
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Incredible place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've been to this place 3 times this year. Every time I'm in Galway I have to eat there. The food is fantastic and unbelievably good value for the quality. The atmosphere is lovely because the place is cozy and beautifully decorated.But the main reason I love this place is the warm welcome I get from the staff there every time I go. If you haven't been, go!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. Really friendly and polite staff and the food was amazing. Highly recommended and would definitely return in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We visited the restaurant last night and despite a last minute booking they were happy to accommodate us. The restaurant is located in the heart of Galway and was easy to find. The decor is quirky and the atmosphere welcoming. There is plenty of choice on the menu and several options for vegetarians, vegans and those on a gluten free diet. All courses were reasonably priced the most expensive item being the steak for €18. My partner and I had three courses with a drink and only paid about €60 which I found reasonable. The food itself was divine, all very fresh and beautifully presented. I chose the mezze board to start and the chicken burger for my main. Despite feeling absolutely stuffed we decided on dessert which was gorgeous. The service on the night was also excellent. We will definitely visit next time we are in Galway.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Got here around 7pm and the place seemed quite, but by half 7 it was packed and they were turning people away, so guess we got lucky. The place is quite small but has a pleasant atmosphere.

The menu is broad and good choice of specials and very reasonably priced. Beef salad started was very tasty and quite big for a starter. Then had mussels for the main course, again very tasty. Rhubarb crumble for desert was delicious.

From the time we got in, the two waitress's were very friendly and attentive. Overall this place was excellent, so good we decided to come back for lunch the following day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Street Kitchen also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Quay Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Street Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.