We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faboulous food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Street Kitchen

The Quay Street Kitchen
Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
091865680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 338 restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: European, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“faboulous food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I came across this restaurant on Thursday morning last. The place was very busy but had a wonderful ambience. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and seemed appreciative of our custom. Breakfast was delicious- homemade granola, yummy pancakes with a fruit compote and Eggs Benedict.
We took a peek at the dinner menu and on recommendation of one of the waitresses we returned for dinner that evening to find some of the same staff who were still as energetic and welcoming as earlier.
Food was SUPERB..... We had the calamari and meze board to start- both tasty and excellent portions. For the main courses we had seabass and beefcheek YUM YUM YUM.
So glad we found this place. superb food, excellent+++ service and great value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    335
    90
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Two visits on a week long work trip to Galway. Very good quality which is matched by being well priced. The falafel salad was not as strongly flavoured as it could have been but overall great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was here over the weekend. Can't fault it! We sat outside even-though it was quite chilly..but it was okay because there were blankets and the waitress offered us hot water bottles!

I had the vegan burger which was the best veggie/vegan burger I've ever had. Chips and salad were lovely too. Huge portion!

The prices were great value, much cheaper than eating out in many other parts of the country. Especially considering how good the food is!

Would love to have had dessert but wasn't able for anymore...too full! Hopefully will be able to another time :)

Staff were great too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork,ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff - have a go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The title says it all really. I"ve been here many times. Perhpas even reviewed before? Anyway, I can add little other than perhaps this - try the sweet potato chips - they're divine. And also the cup cakes (inc vegan ones). It's all good. They also stock 8Degrees Brewery beer which is very very good.
Alos, they have outdoor seating and supply blankets (awwww..how sweet:)) Seriously though, noce touch. I'll be back, that's for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate here our last night in Ireland and so glad we did! We had a group of nine people which they easily accommodated into the tiny dining room (we stopped by and made reservations earlier in the day). Food was simple and delicious-I started with the crab legs and calamari and had the leg of lamb with mashed potatoes as an entree. Food was fresh and not greasy. One of our group had a birthday an the chocolate cherry cupcake they served was out of this world!! Service was prompt and friendly and menu was simple, but with vegan and gluten free options as well as traditional Irish fare. Everyone in the group loved their food. Prices are reasonable and location is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Street Kitchen also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Quay Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Street Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.