We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Galway to your Saves list
Travelodge Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room could be cleaner... it is not an old building, but the mattress and sofa bed look like they were installed in a 1970's campervan and both got a fresh start in the Travelodge during the celtic tiger era.... it was expensive to sleep on said items....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It is a pity you look back on your stay with such negativity.
I think it is a little inaccurate to compare our furnishings with those of 40 years ago. We opened in 2003 and the photographs on this page provide a clear depiction of our modern setting.
Nevertheless, I do hope the other elements of your stay provided some enjoyment to you!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
Gemneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    108
    54
    33
    27
See reviews for
52
112
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaque
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Travelodge for a one week period and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were clean. We did visit during the odd heat wave Ireland experienced this summer and of course there was no air conditioning. While we were there for three weeks in Ireland we stayed at many places and to be fair ,none of the hotels or bed and breakfasts had air conditioning , Ireland just normally does not get heat like this! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful country of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the heat-wave you mentioned was somewhat of a shock for most of us but we made the best of it!
I hope you re-visit our country again in the future and do bring back with you the fine weather if you can!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWIlliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This does not look like a standard travelodge from the outside and on the inside it has a reception and restaurant and lift that are like most standard hotels. The main areas looked a bit tired and could do with a revamp. The room was fine - reasonable size, quiet and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful - our television stopped working and it was changed very quickly. The location is good - just on the edge of town and just a short walk into the centre and it is only a few minutes walk to Galway Shopping Centre that includes supermarkets and eateries.
It may be a feature of Galway (as it is very touristy), but this was quite expensive (156 EUR for 2 nights) for a hotel of this standard. It would be a good choice if you got it for a lower price (say 50 EUR per night).

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the rear carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments.
While you may have found us expensive, I can guarantee we were the cheapest hotel in the city on the date in question. We are acutely conscious of our rates and how they compare to our competitors. They change on a daily basis as a result. I invite you back to stay with us in the future. Book online at travelodge.ie well in advance for the best deal!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe82
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for one night with my partner and 8 month old baby. I can honestly say ice stayed in better, cleaner hostels! The cot the brought up for our bubba was stained, they also provided no linen so we had to pull it off the sofa bed. I would've had her in bed with us however the bed was so soft that I was worried about safety. There were marks on the walls and mould on the curtain in the bathroom. I've stated in better and cleaner hostels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I regret that you found your stay unsatisfactory.
It is a pity that a clear oversight by housekeeping was the cause of your displeasure. I must point out that the matters mentioned above would have been rectified immediately if reported to reception. If we hear nothing from guests we must assume that all is ok.
Thank-you kindly for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just back from two lovely days break in Galway with my husband, stayed at Travel Lodge and had a good experience at this hotel. Checked in on Wednesday evening and the young man on reception was very helpful and welcoming. The bedroom and en suite were very clean and comfortable.Breakfast was perefect with a good choice and staff were helpful. We were lucky when we met Seamus the manager and told him we would like to go to the Aran Island, he phoned a company and had our trip organised in minutes, we had a wonderful day out on Inishmore, thanks Seamus for your advice and help. We will definately stay at the Travel Lodge when in Galway again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay.
Reviews like this are genuinely rewarding for myself and my fellow staff here at Travelodge.
I am glad I could help with your excursion to Aran. It rarely dissapoints.
Thank you for your glowing recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from Galway stayed at this hotel just the one night did not like some things like the noise from the busy road outside, the rooms need a lick of paint the sofabed looked shabby and old the double bed was uncomfortable as the mattress was not firm good points was the price of the room and was very near the centre of Galway the bathroom was nice and modern with a bath and shower, but you get what you paid for as its a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel as its on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate your comments. All feedback, both positive and negative, is taken very seriously by us as it helps us to mold our service into the best it can be. Our rooms are constantly under review and elements deemed to be of sub-par quality are immediately replaced.
Thank you for your frank assessment and I invite you to return in the future and see how we have improved.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a family (2adults & 3yrold &5yr old) for two nights. The room was big enough for us, it was clean and as we were at the back of the hotel very quiet.
We walked into the city one day it was a 15min walk with a buggy and a child walking, but decided to get a bus on the second day when my husband asked the man at reception for the bus details he said he didn't know anything. We found no fault with the hotel but found that the man at reception should have known something as basic as the buses.
If your looking for a cheap central base this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am grateful for your positive feedback and recommendation.
I regret our staff member was unable to provide you with the relevant information regarding the buses and agree this should not have been the case. I will certainly be raising the issue with our reception team as they are continually encouraged to keep informed on details regarding our locality. Thank you once again for helping us improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.