We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Connacht Hotel to your Saves list
The Connacht Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Tripadvisor Rate
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Galway
ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed here recently on a 2 day break and overall it was very good. Location is about 25 mins walk form eyre square or a €10 taxi ride. Taxis are always waiting outside or a courtesy phone inside brings one in a minute or two. Plenty of car parking was available in the hotel grounds.
Staff were very good and courteous - as you would expect I hear you say! The foyer looks impressive and clean and well signposted. We were checked in after about a 5 minute queue and got directions to our room no problem. However on opening the room door we were met with a waft of freezing air. Obviously the previous tenant, (we assume and not the hotel staff) had switched off the radiators and somebody never checked to have them on again. First Impressions were not good as it took nearly 6 hours for the room to heat up again. So we headed for the hotel restaurant. Our visit was saved by this experience where we got a wonderful 3 course meal as part of the weekend package. Lovely bottle of house wine for €22.50 and service and ambiance was excellent. Chowder presented in a bowl honed from baked bread crust. Never saw that before in my limited travels. The nearby bar was busy and a lot of families were using the hotel and a good atmosphere also prevailed. And the room had warmed up when we returned.. or maybe that was the bottle of wine dulling our temperature senses!!
Breakfast the following morning was standard buffet fare with a 10 minute queue. We must have hit it at a bad time as the following morning we were seated straight away. Both mornings breakfast was nice and set us up for the day.
Check out was speedy and no problem.
So overall a very good stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    192
    118
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
131
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A long walk to the reception area from the rooms at the back of the hotel along several corridors. Even more corridors if you wish to venture to the pool and spa area. Overall a bit of an anonymous hotel with a Sports Bar serving typical pub food

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the first time over the weekend with extended family, the hotel is big & very spread out so had quite a walk to the rooms.

Reception staff were lovely when we were checking in, we asked for extra pillows & they were in the rooms within 10 minutes.

One of the lifts wasn't working at all on Saturday and when we were going down to breakfast Sunday morning the second one had stopped working. Not good when travelling with someone who finds stairs very difficult.

We decided to eat in the restaurant on Saturday evening, it was very busy & we had about a half hour wait which wasn't too bad. Got seated & ordered easily. Two of the group got served, the rest of us waited, three more got served & I waited - eventually had to ask where my meal was!! Two of the others had finished by the time I got mine - which was very poor. It was obviously prepackaged & the sauce had curdled so I couldn't eat it. One of the others ordered pizza & it was burned round the crust on one side. We told the waiter who apologised but wasn't too bothered.

We decided to brave dessert - got the menus & had to call the waiter over 30 minutes later to take the order & waited a further 25 minutes to be served.

The restaurant was very busy but that can't be an excuse for poor food or service.

The next morning was no better - got up & had no hot water! When we went to check out I mentioned it at reception & was told - the boiler's broken, sorry - have to say the reception staff weren't at all bothered.

Overall a very poor experience & definitely won't be going back

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achill Island, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 12th and 13th December 2014 ate in the bar on the Friday night food was terrible , dry tasteless and overcooked . Then had to pay full price for the 2 meals we ate . Maybe the chef was having a bad day . We have stayed before on numerous occasions and the food has been of top quality . The Hotel is family friendly , clean , and the staff excellent from the ease of check in to the housekeeping staff each and everyone were polite and happy to make your stay a stress free time . The Bedrooms are clean , spacious and had free wi fi what a joy . Breakfast was 100% better than the bar food of the Friday night with an all you could eat buffet ,fresh fruit and full Irish Breakfast, plenty of fruit juices and tea and coffee .The leisure centre is clean and well equipped . The bar had live music on both the Friday and Saturday nights and again this was of top quality . Ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night as part of a party night and again the staff and food were of top quality . This hotel is a gem and it is location make it the ideal place to stay when in Galway .

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinford, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is located near Galway city and is ideal for a city visit. We stayed here on Sunday night; two adults and two children.The rooms are spacious and very clean. The Restaurant was not open on this Sunday evening, the bar has a big seating area for food. The food was tasty and very good but the service was so slow. We waited almost an hour for our main courses and we had to ask for everything from cutlery to the wine. We did however get the children's main courses with our starters. The waitress offered the children ice cream as she knew we were not happy with the service. We went swimming the next morning and the children love the pool in this hotel as it is child friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one Saturday night recently, rooms were of high quality, beds were great, en suite very nice too. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty on offer. Would highly recommend a visit here, and is near the city

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always grateful to our guests for their feedback.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Connacht Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pozzallo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my Girlfriend have been on holiday in Ireland last October and this hotel was the best where we have stayed. It was a great accommodation and a very friendly staff welcomed us on the first night with a smile. We were planning to stay there only one night but then, given the confortable position and location of the hotel, we stayed for three nights and made excursions from there.
Probably only the breakfast should be more organised but the F&B staff was perfect and also available for touristic information for visiting the area.

Well done

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by posting your review.

It was wonderful to read that you found all of the staff so friendly and that because you enjoyed your first night so much you extended your stay. I have addressed your feedback with regard to the breakfast dining experience with the Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope that if you visit Ireland again, that you will return to stay with us, as we would be delighted to have the pleasure of looking after you again..

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Connacht Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.