We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Connacht Hotel to your Saves list
The Connacht Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a great few days here. Staff very friendly and professional. Food amazing. Entertainment was great craic every night. Just took a while to get a drink at the bar because there were only two bar tenders in

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    230
    141
    62
    23
See reviews for
205
159
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is in a great location but unfortunately, that's the only good thing I have to say about it. If you want food in the bar, be prepared to go and lift your own menu and then ask to be served. It is chaos in the bar, the staff are walking around aimlessly with dishes, not knowing who to deliver them to. This happened for whole 3 days that we stayed there. On our final day, we were so hungry that we risked going to the bar for food. When we arrived, it was just as before but worse. We lifted our own menu, held it up in the air to be noticed and staff walked by us continuously. We could hear several other couples complaining that they weren't being served, so we left.
To add to this, the shower head had clearly never been cleaned-full of mould, I felt awful every time I stepped into the shower and looked up at that and down at the disgusting shower curtain. Will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during Galway Arts Festival. This is a very big hotel a good bit outside the city centre.

Pros:
1. Ample parking
2. Free WiFi

Cons:
1. Room was not cleaned during out two night stay so no delivery of new towels delivered. We told reception at check out and the receptionist told us we could have called and ordered new towels. Room cleaning should just happen, it shouldn't have to be requested.

2. 300euro for two nights with breakfast. Far too expensive for a hotel this far outside the city centre. Over 5 euro for a bottle of beer...

3. Why no net curtains on the 4th floor? Distinct lack of privacy if the full curtains are open to let in the light.

4. Breakfast felt very chaotic with people being subjected to inquisition as to whether their rate included breakfast and very hassled staff. Why no selection of meats and cheeses? Not everyone wants a "full Irish".

5. Finally, apparently a king sized bed is two single beds pushed together with the mattress zipped at the top (with no topper or anything to mask the discomfort if you strayed over the dividing line!)

We like Galway, but this hotel was not for us.

Tip for breakfast. Skip the madness of the hotel and get a coffee in the Centra 2 minutes from the hotel. The store has a small seating area and it was quiet and peaceful when we were there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Connacht Hotel recently and I must say we had a most pleasent surprise. Shay and His staff are continually adding to the quality of the Hotel and making every amenity available to make one's stay more enjoyable. When we were checking in we noticed an advert for a new addition to the Hotel "Called a corner of Italy. We had a look at what was on offer and were most impressed. We made a booking for dinner in "A Corner of Italy" and what a lovely surprise. The food and and the service was excellent. What it meant for us was we were able to stay in the Hotel and have a lovely enjoyable meal in a lovely new Restaurant and no getting a taxi into town. The waiting staff were excellent and the Head Waiter went out of his way to attend to our every need. Fabulous Hotel, Fabulous staff, Fabulous atmosphere. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Not sure but we always get an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed in The Connacht hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay. This hotel is absolutely buzzing with activity and has a lot to offer families from its kids club to excellent leisure centre with pool and very good value restaurant. I felt sorry for the staff of the restaurant there just didn't seem enough of them but they coped well and I found the food delicious couldn't fault it. The bar area is large and comfortable and for the time we spent there there was great live entertainment each night.

This hotel is a great base for touring around Connemara. We were lucky to have great weather for our stay, the evenings we sat outside the bar on the picnic tables which look onto the car park, not the best view but entertaining enough watching older kids play football in car park and large tour buses navigating around them trying to park So if you have very young kids please watch them. For such a massive hotel was surprised there is no outdoor play area but the kids club seems to compensate for this - my two said they were too old to attend but on our final evening Frozen was on and they were gutted they didn't go.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable with wifi but no aircon so with our family of four with kids aged 12 and 14 we found the rooms very warm but with the window open all was ok.

This hotel is located on the busy Dublin road not far from the G hotel which is worth a pop in and there is a cinema next to the G Hotel. The city centre is a good 20min walk which we managed ok. This hotel is close to the Rugby grounds.

The Connacht is very much geared towards families, groups and large tour groups they don't do weddings therefore I would not recommend this noisy busy hotel for a quiet relaxing or romantic getaway. Thank you to the Connacht for allowing our family to go on a holiday at home in Ireland at such reasonable rates during July.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 and had a fantastic time, From check in until checking out we loved every minute of our stay. Staff are lovely and so friendly, and there are plenty of staff around. We had dinner in the bar one evening and couldn't fault it..it was lovely. Breakfast was also very good, great selection to choose from. Rooms are very nice too we had absolutely no complaints about anything, we asked for extra pillows and got them straight away. Plenty of towels, tea/coffee facilities in room etc. Our 2 children 6 & 12 loved the pool in the leisure centre as did we, huge pool, nicest pool yet in our experience and towels provided which is always great. Kids club for younger and older kids too, though we didn't avail of this. I would highly recommend this hotel for any family, they are very family friendly

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony, nice to bring a chair out and enjoy a coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a large hotel, with a special appeal to families (kids stay free and there are many kids activities.) But despite the size and the multitudes of people, the staff did everything they could to accommodate our needs. They helped me make travel reservations, they even replaced the beds. The rooms are typical hotel decor, but the pool and gym were first rate. Breakfast was tasty. My only suggestion would be for them to serve food later in the evening.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.