We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Connacht Hotel to your Saves list
The Connacht Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Tripadvisor Rate
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bustling Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Connaught is a warm friendly hotel with easy access to Galway City centre. We had a triple room and it was excellent value for money, very clean and tidy.

We arrived on a Friday evening and it was packed with other people checking-in, which is a good sign that the hotels’ standards are great.

There are 2 restaurants in the hotel, although our group ate out. And a leisure centre with a swimming pool & gym. There are always taxis just right outside the hotel door, so you need not worry about getting into Galway city.
The location is fantastic as it is just a 5-6 minutes’ drive to the heart of Galway, although you could walk if you fancied a stroll.
There is a resident’s bar with live music and dancing area for those who want a late night boogie and the atmosphere in the bar was fantastic as we had a few drinks there later in the night.

There were quite a large number of families with young children some of whom were able to sit with their parents in the bar-which I though was nice as it afforded the parents the chance to catch up with other adults and the kids could also play.

The beds were really comfy, other than the small problem of being unable to open/slide the bedroom window more than 2 inches and unfortunately we were in Galway on a pretty warm day, which meant it took me a while to drift off to sleep due to the heat.

Room Tip: If you love a breezy room, ask if the hinges on the windows could be extended so as to enable you op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    192
    118
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
131
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a perfect location for a stag. Very friendly staff in a hotel with close proximity to Galway pubs. Lovely bar/restaurant on the premises for a recovery beer/food as well as it being late opening for a nightcap after all the pubs in the city close.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Connaught is excellent value for money and a great place to stay in Galway.
Most notably, the leisure center is excellent and we availed of it often during our last stay.
We stayed using a livingsocial voucher, which included dinner, which was lovely.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stag group booked in for weekend. Not far out of town - 15-20 min walk of 5 min taxi. Its a big hotel. Staff were friendly. Helped organise tables for dinner in hotel bar the first night no problem.

Hotel bar stays open long enough after town so the group can catch up over a drink after the night out, generally would be a few of stags/hen partys etc coming back from nights out - the bar is away from the bedrooms and the place is well supervised so there's no messing or disturbance to other guests.

Breakfast was good. But in an un-irish fashion breakfast stops when they say it stops so make sure you get up on time! Would def recommend a stay there for a group - very relaxed and convenient enough for Galway. Stag friendly but run well so stags/hens don't impact on faimlies or other guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Unlike some hotels this one is very welcoming and accommodating for hen and stag parties and makes Galway a very easy location to organise one in, although you do need to use taxis as it's a short drive from the city centre. The staff were very helpful and friendly and often greeted me as I walked about. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel restaurant serves really decent food and has plenty of tv screens if there's a match on. The leisure centre was also great and refreshing after a night out. I definitely recommend this hotel if having a hen or stag in Galway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have stayed at the Connacht before so we knew what to expect: large hotel, busy, lots of children running around and queues for breakfast (get there early to avoid the wait). But it's the middle of the summer and it's a family friendly hotel so that's exactly what you should expect. The hotel is very convenient as you can take a walk into the city in 20 minutes or alternatively get a bus or taxi. If you are driving to areas such as Clifden or Kylemore you can quickly get on the route without having to go through the city. There's an ATM and grocery store just across the road. Hotel has a decent restaurant and a large bar. There is a swimming pool in the hotel though we didn't use it this time so can't comment. The family room is a good size and comfortable enough. There are vending machines located throughout the hotel. The underground car park is recommended as it is rarely full whereas the surface car park is always busy. The Connacht is a good value hotel if you are planning a short break in Galway.

Room Tip: Hotel is arranged in blocks so no obvious good rooms apart from fact that some had a balcony which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel, the reception staff were very welcoming and our room was very clean. The leisure centre was lovely as was the staff there. Our problem was when we ordered meal in the elevated seating area of the bar. My son ordered a cheese burger with potatoes and vegetables( he has type one diabetes and is on a carbohydrate counting diet). After 45 minute, my meal arrived and the wrong dish for my son, which was taken back by the waiter, the second time a burger arrived with chips and salad which was dropped in front of him before we could explain it was again not what was ordered. My husband went back with this dish explaining it was wrong again. Then a dry bun burger arrived with 2 scoops of potatoes, no veg or cheese almost thrown at him. 2 bowls of soup arrived for my husband.....needless to say a very distressing meal. The waitress tries to justify it by saying it was her first night. If it was she needed help and supervision. The "chef" who sent out the dry burger and 2 scooped of potato needs to look at his presentation. I didn't say anything because my son was getting upset. Very very unpleasant experience. The manager of this hotel needs to train staff in the very basics. Young waiter setting breakfast table with soup spoons....glad to be home

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.