We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh....nothing special but very kid friendly!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Connacht Hotel to your Saves list
The Connacht Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Tripadvisor Rate
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eh....nothing special but very kid friendly!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We didn't have any crazy problems or anything, but I would not stay here again. It's one big giant tourist hotel with buses full of tour groups.

Pros:
- parking is free
- although a long walk, it's walkable to High Street, Quay, etc.
- apartments have full kitchens, and are not too expensive
- pool/gym: the pool area is awesome! It's indoor, big, and warm! We took our two year old there every day and he loved it! Have a spa, steam room, shower/locker facilities....this was my favorite part of the whole hotel
- restaurant on site and room service (see cons as well for more on this). And a bar.
- kids area (we never used since looked closed all the time, but nice touch anyway)
- pack'n'play/travel cot made available in room for us

Cons:
- big, impersonal, nothing special
- restaurant: food was mediocre at best. But it did have a restaurant and room service, which when desperate, is great
- breakfast was sub par at best
- very tourist driven

We used a golf tour booking company on this trip and 1) we would not do that again and 2) they were the ones that booked this hotel for us. In their defense, I am guessing they did this because of us requesting something toddler friendly and preferably that had a kitchen, so I think the options were limited. In hind site, if this is what we wanted, we would have probably just gone with a holiday/vacation rental.

Best thing about this place is the price, but you get what you pay for, FYI.

Room Tip: FYI, we were promised a 1 bedroom apartment and a 2 bedroom apartment NEXT TO EACH OTHER. This did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience by writing your review.

Your feedback as that of all our guests is very important to us and helps us to monitor how we are performing at meeting the needs of our guests.

We are sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that were not to your satisfaction and we would have been very happy to speak with you in person prior to your departure with regard to these matters.

We are a very popular hotel and one of the largest outside Dublin, catering for a wide range of guests, Groups, Corporate Guests, Families like yourselves and Couples. We understand that it is very busy, however, we do make every effort to make each guest's stay as welcoming as possible. Our children's club is open at weekends and during school holidays during which time parents with children under 3 years are very welcome to come in an use the playroom.

It was very nice to hear that you and your baby really enjoyed the Leisure Club and that you found your accommodation catered fully for your needs.

If you wish to contact me directly regarding your feedback, I would be delighted to correspond with your in person. You can e-mail me at lpettit@theconnacht.ie.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    192
    118
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
131
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in the Connacht hotel in the suites for a family reunion. It was very enjoyable stay from booking, check in, dinner that evening. Rooms were very clean and well equipped, pleasant staff. A nice lady on reception Caroline checked us out. Didn't use the hotels leisure facilities.
Will definitely return to this hotel on our next family break away and shall be recommending it to my friends.

Thanks to management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly on such a happy occasion as a Family Reunion and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were looked after very well in the Connacht . From check in to check out and using the bar and restauarnt all staff were friendly and helpful . I am on a particular diet at the moment and the girl in the restauarnt Saturday 7th 1.30 was wonderful just sorry I did not get her name to say thanks here. When we come back to Galway it will be the Connacht where we will be staying .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Nothing but good feelings after an excellent get away. The Service was excellent, the staff members were friendly and helpful, the food lovely, the rooms comfortable and clean we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review and for such a glowing recommendation of the Hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for 3-days. Hotel did look a little tired but rooms and bathrooms were clean, beds comfortable. Pillows you get 2 and as flat as flat comes - had to call desk and ask for 2 more pillows - which they promptly brought.

Pool is on resident side - make you where a bathing cap man or woman. Never saw children's play area opened.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Big and impersonal and full of couch tour groups! Big mistake staying here. Took an hour to checkin with a mix up in our rooms that were booked 6months in advance! With unsure weather, too far to walk into town though there is a bus they told us There isa restaurant/bar/lounge area but all together so very impersonal once again. The entertainment doesn't start till very late which is disappointing - the second night we were there the band didn't start till almost 11pm - too late for travellers. The night before a little earlier but it wasn't great! Breakfast was low quality and staff hopeless...no one gives a damn in this hotel It is definitely best left for coach tours!

Room Tip: Rooms are good - not sure any are better than others - as I said it is a big impersonal hotel just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are always grateful to hear from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were sorry to read that there were so many aspects of your stay that were not to your satisfaction and any of the Management Team would have been more that happy to speak with you in person during your stay regarding your feedback.

Your experience would certainly not be the usual experience of the majority of our guests, particularly, in relation to the service provided by our staff, as they are highly recommended for their friendliness and helpfulness, in the vast majority of our reviews.

In saying this your feedback as with that of all our guest's is appreciated and helps us to monitor how we are performing at meeting our guests needs and to address any service breakdowns. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your needs during your visit to us.

If you wish to correspond with me directly on any of your feedback, I would be delighted to hear from you on lpettit@theconnacht.ie

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I started in the Connacht Hotel for 1 night - and I am glad it was only the one night.
On arrival we were checked in and the receptionist took all our details. We were given a bag of "goodies" and when i went to my room i noticed that the chocolate bar was 3 months out of date. The hotel itself is very run down and there is no warm home feeling to it what so ever. My room was located looking on to the Air Con system which kept me awake most of the night, sounded like an on-going plane landing.
We decided to eat in the hotel, the food as nice and staff where very cheerful, until we used the ketchup to see that it was out of date by TWO YEARS! We told the waitress who then informed us that it couldnt have come from them and that a customer musthave brought it in with them...Hmmmm..
Breakfast was manic, crowds of people shoved into a small eatting area, the food was average so it wasnt the best start to the day.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback by posting your review.

As a followup to your comments regarding the chocolate in your Complimentary "Goody Bag", we are at a loss to know how the Bar of chocolate in your bag was out of date. The bags are made up daily by our Reception Team and all the boxes we have in stock were dated use by September 2014. With regard to the sachet of Ketchup you found in our bar , the Brand in question is not a Brand that we use in the Hotel and again following a check of all the condiments, none were found to be out of date.

We are a very popular and therefore a very busy hotel, looking after a variety of guests, from Corporates to Families, from Groups to Couples, with the majority of our guests very happy with their with stay and our facilities and service.

We are sorry that we failed to meet your needs on your last visit to us.

If you wish to correspond directly with me regarding your feedback, I would be delighted to hear from your on lpettit@theconnacht.ie

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Renmore, Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.