We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lorraine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lorraine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

exellent hotel,absolutely loved everything about this hotel from the staff which were brilliant couldn't do enough 4 us ,to the food and athmosphere in the residence bar which was great crack.hotel is very central right across from the train station and supermacs is next door plus lots of other shops.would definately recommend this hotel,loved it and will be staying there next time im in galway.thanks to all the staff at the imperial hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    109
    84
    35
    26
See reviews for
36
110
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

lovely well run hotel right in the centre of galway
food great ,bar is buzzing and a great feeling of people meeting and greeting there
lovely staff and service was excellent
i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have not stayed in this hotel, but if the food is anything to go by , would be well worth a visit, my wife and I have eaten in the Imperial hotel on a number of times, and have yet to be disappointed , the staff are very friendly, it is clean and bright , and the food is great and not overpriced, would recommend this hotel for dinner .

Room Tip: Multi car park few minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel could do with a facelift inside. Hasn't been renovated in about 20 years I'd say. Still, you're really paying for the location here - right bang in the middle of Eyre Square. Pricey for the state of the place (€140 per room). Still, it was clean and dry and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. Shower was weak though. After all is said and done, I would stay here again if I was on a stag or needed a central location. Othersie, no.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and could not the fault place. From the moment of check in the staff were friendly, courteous and informative. The room was clean and I didn't experience any problems at all. I was extremely happy that on wanting to watch a particular rugby league match the bar staff made it happen. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked a 3 night break in March 2013. From check in to check out the service was exceptional. Upon arrival I reported 2 minor issues with the room one being the in room safe had been locked and the shower was running cold. Both issues were dealt with within 3 minutes of making the call.
The hotel occupies a great location for all areas of Galway being just a 2 minute walk from the railway station and the main shopping/drinking areas are right on the doorstep. The rooms were large and extremely comfortable. being concerned about previous reviews re the breakfast I booked the full Irish on the first morning but this didn't start til 09.30 and a surcharge of 5 euros pp was payable. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the following day we tried the continental again this provided everything you would expect from a a quality breakfast. We occupied a room right on the front of the hotel (room 202) which was great for people watching over the square, the only down side was the local supermac takeaway virtually next door that attracted night revellers until the early hours of the morning, again this provided some funny scenes but if you wanted peace n quiet then all windows had to be closed. We had a fantastic break and would definitely stay here again even in the same room if possible !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions as a cheap and cheerful option for a city stay in galway and it has done a good job for me.The only thing i would point out is that the breakfast is continental and self service and if you are looking for a really quiet stay look elsewhere as this hotel is full with Stags and Hens most weekends and the really really let there hair down and seem to be allowed to do so at there leisure

Room Tip: Beware it is a Stag and Hen Haven
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Address: Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.