We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicolo - CLOSED

Il Vicolo
5 Buttermilk Walk, Galway, Ireland
091-535 922
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Il Vicolo is Galway’s newest wine bar and restaurant.Situated to the rear of the Augustinian Church, Il Vicolo is the perfect spot for a long lunch, or dinner with friends.Food is delicately prepared by Sorrento native Tony Copolla using traditional Italian recipes and cooking styles. Using a selection of locally sourced and high quality Italian produce chefs prepare the finest range of rustic Italian dishes for lunch and dinner.Complimented by a vast selection of Italian wines there is a huge choice of Prosecco, red, and white wines to suit every dish. Lunch and dinner specials change daily, offering a consistently changing menu.Il Vicolo serves up a breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu, along with takeaway coffee, pastries, and rustic paninis.
Naas, Ireland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Lovely food and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went to Il Vicolo on a Saturday night with my husband and lucky for us we had booked the day before, as it is really tiny and packed with customers.
We loved everything about it, the food (authentic Italian), the wine, the atmosphere and the service from the very friendly staff.
We were very impressed that they served Spritz and that everything on the food and wine list was "real" Italian.
We would definitely go back and we recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Venetian Masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

'Mmm...' that the sound you'll make when you taste the delights that il Vicolo offers up to you on a plate. This is my new favorite restaurant in Galway. You can always tell the mark of good Italian restaurant by their choice of beer and when I see Mr. Moretti tipping his hat at me from the label, I'm excited, because I know this is going to be good. Another equally delicious aperitif is the refreshment that is a Campari and Grapefruit cocktail and for afters their proper Italian Espresso is awesome. The Polenta with little flecks of delicious Fennel Seeds and the Seafood Linguini is always right on the money with a lovely selection of perfectly cooked fish and homemade pasta. I totally appreciate the technical skill, creativity and most importantly love that the Chefs clearly put into their food and applaud the free reign approach they take to bringing modern, Italian food to the West Coast of Ireland. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

There was a group of 6 of us in for dinner. Our food came out efficiently, the staff were helpful and attentive, but not overwhelming, and the food was delicious. I really enjoyed the quaintness of the place. It is quite small, which makes it a perfect place for intimate dinner out for a group, couple, or individual. The wine selection is amazing, and the menu changes daily with vegetarian options. Fresh food. Great wine. Good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, wonderful farm to fork food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This little place has an outdoor eating area tucked on the side street. We had homemade soup and some of the best sandwiches ever on toasted bread. The wine list goes on and on. Prices were good on both food and drink. Two young fellows took care of all our needs. Well worth finding this little gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem ~ Good athmosphere, service, food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a meal last saturday and was delighted with the quality of the food. The premises might be small, but I don't see this as an issue ~ as the service is enhanced as a result. A nice balanced menu. We had the mussles and vegetarian dishes and they were suberb. The wines was excellent quality. Look forward to returning. I am surprised it is not rated higher because it is one of the better meals I have had in Galway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicolo also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.