We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gal in Galway for a Night and a Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacles Hostel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barnacles Hostel Galway to your Saves list
Barnacles Hostel Galway
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Quay Street House, 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gal in Galway for a Night and a Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hostel was clean, warm, inviting, and fun. It had great natural lighting in the room, more than one toilet and shower per room (these things matter people!) and the staff was friendly. They gave me great recommendations on where to go, what to see, and where to eat and drink.
I was very pleased with the time in Galway, which was short, but a perfect anmount too see the city. Oh, and thsis hostel is right in the heart of it all. Easy to find in the night when you stumble back from the pub.

Room Tip: Be kind to your hostel mates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    41
    21
    17
See reviews for
9
35
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Would definitely recommend staying at barnacles. Stayed in the 12 bed dorm bathrooms were cleaned everyday and sheets were the cleanest we have had. Kitchen and common room were very welcoming didn't feel like you were at yet again another hostel. Also very central, 2 min walk to everything staff were the most helpful we had come across, knew everything and someone was always there to help!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin, right on arrival the staff at reception were helpful and personable. Seeming genuinely interested while we checked in, not just making idol chit chat. Everyone at reception over our 3 night stay was incredibly helpful. I do have to specificly mention sean who helped us on multiple occasions and even gave us a laugh or two. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. Our 13 bedroom dorm even had 2 showers and 2 toilets. Great location. Great information provided both verbally and on chalk boards in the kitchen... can't not recommended more highly. Veronica x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's 2 o'clock in the morning. I feel like I am inside of the pub just in the same streeet where my window overlooks. I have to leave for an excurssion tomorrow morning and It is impossible to sleep.

It's one of the two appartments which Barnacles offers for 60 euros per night!!! Nobody mentioned this noise. The staff live in Galway and they knew that it's impossible to sleep here when we were making the reservation. They deceived me.

I went to reception and they didn't offer me any help, any alternative, any refund.

It's up to you but if you are not going to get drunk that night, don't go there!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidija R, Business Development at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Diego

Thank you for your two reviews about your stay last Saturday night.

I am sorry to hear you found the bar opposite your apartment too loud last Saturday night. Kirwins Lane is normally a quiet laneway but the popular Busker Browns restaurant and bar is situated at the opposite end of the street. Last Saturday night was especially busy with Christmas parties and post-exam parties there and I’m sorry they disrupted your early night. All our guests who stay at this apartment love its central location, easy accessibility and close proximity to everything they come to Galway for .

As is my understanding at 11.30pm on Saturday night you called into the hostel and asked the night porter to make a room in the hostel available to you. While we pride ourselves on providing the best possible customer experience possible and try our utmost to fulfil all requests and needs, it unfortunately wasn’t possible to do at this hour as the hostel was already fully occupied.

The next morning on speaking with the manager you were given a full refund of €60.00, which you erroneously claimed in your review you didn't receive.

Again I am sorry you were unhappy with the noise in the surrounding area however if you do decide to return to us we do offer a wide range of rooms many of which are quieter and may be more suited to your needs. We hope that you enjoyed your excursion the following day and that the full refund and customer service you received from the manager on duty the next morning will persuade you to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lidija @ Barnacles Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's 12 am and it's impossible to sleep. I was told the room was quiet enough despite being central, but the truth is that it feels like being right in the middle of the crowd in the pub downstairs.

Insultingly noisy double room for 60€. No refund or compensation offered. You decide guys.

I feel deceived.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidija R, Business Development at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear EvaZGZ

Thank you for your two reviews about your stay last Saturday night.

I am sorry to hear you found the bar opposite your apartment too loud last Saturday night. Kirwins Lane is normally a quiet laneway but the popular Busker Browns restaurant and bar is situated at the opposite end of the street. Last Saturday night was especially busy with Christmas parties and post-exam parties there and I’m sorry they disrupted your early night. All our guests who stay at this apartment love its central location, easy accessibility and close proximity to everything they come to Galway for .

As is my understanding at 11.30pm on Saturday night you called into the hostel and asked the night porter to make a room in the hostel available to you. While we pride ourselves on providing the best possible customer experience possible and try our utmost to fulfil all requests and needs, it unfortunately wasn’t possible to do at this hour as the hostel was already fully occupied.

The next morning on speaking with the manager you were given a full refund of €60.00, which you erroneously claimed in your review you didn't receive.

Again I am sorry you were unhappy with the noise in the surrounding area however if you do decide to return to us we do offer a wide range of rooms many of which are quieter and may be more suited to your needs. We hope that you enjoyed your excursion the following day and that the full refund and customer service you received from the manager on duty the next morning will persuade you to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lidija @ Barnacles Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hostel is very clean and new bathroom facilities! The stuff is great and helps with any queries you might experience. The hostel is directly located in the city of Galway, what else do you need! Nearly everthing is included in the price and breakfast, especially the coffee machine is superb!

Room Tip: If you are a larger group tr to get the rooms 301 and 302/ 116 and 117, there you are on your own an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Barnacles hostel was definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed at during my 6 months backpacking around Europe - they had a cosy common room and a well equipped kitchen, which even had recipe suggestions! It was in an awesome location, right in the centre of town and an easy walk to the bus station. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. I accidentally left two pairs of jeans there and they were more than happy to send them on to me. Thanks Sean!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnacles Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House, 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacles Hostel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.