We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleepzone Hostel Galway to your Saves list
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Bothar na mBan | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stop for travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in between finding a house after starting a new job. The staff were very friendly and helpful, also seem to really enjoy their job. It was quiet at night bar the noise from the road. Good facilities and breakfast was included which saved me a lot of hassle , well prices too! Overall very good and very clean!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    124
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
19
42
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have nothing to complain about. Everything was graaaant! The staff was very nice and always helpful. There was free breakfast including eggs, big kitchen for self-catering, lots of cosy corners, lots of sockets, the rooms are not the biggest and there is not much space but somehow it was enough and each bed a seperate light! It was clean everywhere. In just a few minutes you can reach the city centre by foot and eveything else in galway as well (it's not that big)!

We had great time there and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here one night on my tours of Ireland, and I have to say this was easily the BEST Hostel I've ever stayed in. It was nice and clean and a friendly environment. Other Hostels can be scary and super sketchy, but Sleepzone was none of that! It's super close to the City center and and easy walk to anywhere you want to go. Another small plus: Free Towels to use, other hostels I've stayed at will charge 1-4 Euro/ Pounds for towels. It's the little things like that that will keep people coming back. Defiantly would recommend if you ever go to the Amazing City of Galway, stay at SLEEPZONE!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed a night with my wife and if I had realized how nice it was we would have skipped Cong and spent a couple of more nights here. Very close to the Spanish Arch and the many fine resturants and pubs of the Eyre Square. Minor draw back, no car park but there is one just a couple of blocks away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a 6 bed female and one night in a 10 bed mixed dorm.
The Hostel is located in the city center of Galway, everything is just a few minutes walk away.
The rooms were clean, basic, but sufficient. The room have en-suite bathrooms, but there are also very clean common bathrooms on each floor. Free towels are available at reception.
The kitchen is great. There is enough space and everything is clean. Breakfast is included in the price and there is free tea and coffee all the time.
The is free Wifi, but also computers with internet available on the ground floor.
Staff was really friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Galway for St Patricks day.

Although check in is not till 3 you are able to leave your luggage in an area for free where there are also lockers for valuable things. The check in process is swift and easy and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a free towel service

The room was a private room with en suite. We found the room clean and pleasant. The bed was comfortable and allowed a good nights sleep. The only gripe was the shower which was luke warm and had a push button to operate which needed to keep being pressed to have a shower. I understand why this is and it's not really a complaint but it did bug me, maybe have the button depressed longer before needed to be pressed again.

The communal areas have a large kitchen and dinning area as well as smaller individual rooms for smaller groups with arm chairs and foot stools.

We used the kitchen for cooking our evening meal with a well stocked kitchen and good supply of fresh clean tea towels and the only problem we found was a lack of small sharp knives for cutting vegetables.

Breakfast is included in the price but we had our own and from what I could see there was only bread and jam and one variety of cereal on offer. There are free tea and coffee making facilities and free use of two computers and internet.

Having read other reviews I do wonder what people expect. Yes check in is later than hotels but only by an hour and check out is at 10am but I can understand this with the hostel being able to accommodate close to 200 people as the staff need adequate time for turnover and the staff are not professionally paid hotel staff but these time are not a surprise to anyone as it is clearly stated on your booking form.

A very well staffed hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I can see why it wins so many awards. Will definitely use again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hostel is in a great location, just a short walk from the city center and the bus station but it has some downsides. Although on their website they advertises that the Sleepzone has free wifi, it's only accessible on the first floor. They do have two desktop computers available for use though. The common kitchen is very large with modern equipment, and it's perfect for large groups to prepare meals together. They also have several sitting rooms with books and DVDs available. As to the rooms, I stayed on the top floor, which had a balcony and a nice view of Galway. Although, the room had a sour, musty smell to it that wouldn't seem to go away and made it hard to fall asleep. The en-suite showers were not impressive either. To get a continual stream of water, you have to hold down a button. This can get annoying, but at least theres hot water. I've definitely stayed in some better hostels, but this one was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave great advice about what to see and do in Galway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar na mBan | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepzone Hostel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.