We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brian Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garavans Bar

Garavans Bar
46 William St, Galway, Ireland
353 91 562 537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 63 Nightlife in Galway
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brian Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

They boldly claim to have the best Irish coffee in Galway. It was. Brian was behind the bar the night we were there and gave us some great Irish Whiskey schooling. Great atmosphere. Friendly patrons. Can't wait to come back!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub on Shop/William Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Brian, the bartender, was AWESOME! Local atmosphere and wonderful Irish Coffee!!!!! Brian gave a us a quick Irish whiskey lesson and recommended some great choices.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“great pint and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

its great to Galway has its share of old pubs still thriving
located on the main street we stoped to have a drink on the way to Quay street where most of the action is
or the latin Quarter as it is now known

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Trifecta: Best Irish Coffee, Whisky Selection & Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went to Garavans on our last night in Galway, which was a Tuesday. We unknowingly showed up 30 minutes before closing, but the bartender, Mark, who was the only one working, quickly put away the chairs from their outside seating area to spend time "entertaining" us. We were the only ones sitting at the bar, which was great because we got 100% of Mark's attention. He made the best Irish coffee I had during my stay in Ireland (Dublin & Galway) and showed us a few bar tricks - like how to put a Shamrock on the top of a Guinness pint & the art of the perfect Irish coffee pour.

Garavans has a great selection of Whiskey, the best we saw in both Dublin and Galway. The pub has some great history (which Mark would love to tell you about!) and is the perfect spot if you're looking for Irish ambiance, quality drinks and great Irish company.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was our last day in Galway and we having coffee on a Sunday morning outside of a cafe when we started chatting with a nice fellow also enjoying a coffee at an outdoor table. Turns out he was the owner of Garavan's Pub next door and was soon opening for the day. We promised we'd be back for our last pint in Galway after a bit of shopping. We did return and are glad we did.

There were great animated and interesting locals here, not to mention the pour of a lovely couple of pints. Had we not had to leave we both mentioned we could have stayed awhile! Nice place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garavans Bar also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Garavans Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garavans Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.