We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Lodge B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amber Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Amber Lodge B&B
26a College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked this B&B (well, just the bed as didn't want breakfast) a couple of days before my stay. Reception was very friendly, you can pay with cash/credit/debit. Booked a double room, it was two single beds, room was very clean, sheets etc spotless, towels provided with complimentary mints, cookies, tea and coffee etc. TV in room too. We dropped our bags in the room and headed out for the evening, came back in around 0200hrs, slept, got up,showered (in the small but clean bathroom) and left. Did exactly what it said on the tin. I'd have no problem staying there again. A nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    18
    20
    19
See reviews for
8
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. They were very nice and friendly when we stopped by to reserve a room and let us check-in a bit early. That was greatly appreciated as we had a tour to catch! The rooms are very nice and new looking. They have tea/coffee in the room with snacks as well as mints on the towels. The breakfast was good but they only offer an Irish breakfast and their cereal/toast bar. It was good but I was hoping for something a little lighter. The only big problem that stopped this from an excellent rating is that the walls are very thin. Luckily there weren't people coming back late but the people below us sounded like they were fighting around midnight. If I could have understood their language, I would have heard it all word for word.

Room Tip: The walls are thin so ask for a top floor room or one of the rooms in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Roscommon, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

me and my partner stayed here for 2 days the room was horrible the shower was in a closet it was tiny unless ur a size 6 u wont fit in it. the bed was very noisy if u sit on it the room was very small and the bathroom was worse its tiny u couldnt open the bathroom door because the bed was in the way. you have to fill the kettle up with a cup because the sink was tiny and that wasnt very easy either. the breakfast wasnt too bad a bit cheap the sausages was grey not pink so no real meat there choose not to have a cooked breakfast on the 2nd day and the ceral was cheap the musli was all oats more porridge than anything the owner was nice but it doesnt make up for the place do not stay here save ur money and spend it somewhere worth while will not be staying there again

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in this B&B last night and would not be in any rush back. The location is great, but the service was pretty terrible. When checking in the porter who checked us in informed us he was hung over and was having a terrible day, he then proceeded to smoke a cigarette while he watched us girls carry our bags up stairs. I have never heard one person use so many curse words in one sentence! There was no hot water in the room and after lots of testing they finally moved us to a different room and again carried our own bags while the porter shouted "hurry up" at us. This morning when we were checking out rather than apologizing for the inconvenience, the manager told us the water in the room was fine and clearly we did not know how to use it properly. Terrible service, would not want to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room in the house. The outside rooms are incredibly small and cram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelvecchio Pascoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at Amber Lodge this Easter weekend. We were extremely impressed by the staff - from the moment we walked in the door everyone was friendly and welcoming, particularly the owner. The rates are very good and include a full Irish breakfast. The breakfast was a bit heavy on the meat, and did not have much of a vegetarian option, but they were accommodating as they could be. Our room was a tad small, but the furnishings were new and pleasant - nice hardwood floors. I do agree that the walls are a bit thin so noise could be an issue, but our room was at the top of the stairs and above the reception, so I imagine a room in a more secluded area would not be an issue.

Room Tip: Try a room on the top floor - it may be quieter than where we were on the middle floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

If you need to stay 1 night I would recommend this B&B.

Great location to city centre, only 5minute walk.

Service was confusing, the lady on reception (or should I say kitchen) could not speak very good english & was getting confused with how much we had to pay..... I was not very impressed that we had to pay when we first got their, even before checking out the rooms.

One of our bedrooms that we pre-booked had a problem with the toliet? However when we booked this room no mention of an issue with the bathroom??? We mentioned it to the lady on reception who came and tried to sort it, but was very hesitate to move us???
Room 17 stay clear of!!

If you want to stay 1night and stay local to town I would recommend it, but not for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Do not pick room 17. Best rooms are 8 & 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for a family christening on a weekend when there was a big rugby match at the ground opposite, so perhaps this was an exceptionally noisy weekend, but judging by the other review this B&B's walls are just too thin.
We could hear everything going on in the room next door and the floor above. In the middle of the second night, the fire-alarm went off. The duty manager seemed to have no idea how to re-set it, and it beeped for the rest of the night. He also didn't seem to make sure all the rooms were evacuated...
So not a place for a relaxing weekend. But it is clean, well decorated, reasonably priced & they do a good breakfast. And it's really close for the centre of Galway.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge B&B

Address: 26a College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city of Galway, this purpose-built bed and breakfast offers bright, comfortable and attractive en suite rooms in a great location. Amber Lodge B&B is just 3 minutes’ walk from Galway’s bus and railway stations. The lodge is also within easy reach of Galway’s shops, pubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.