We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant

The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant
High Street | Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
+353 (0)91 563-757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 329 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dundalk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Called in here on Saturday afternoon 15th June. Food was lovely. I had hake on a bed of mash with seasonal veg. And my daughter had a chicken pasta dish. Both were delicious. Staff were very friendly. When given the bill I was asked to check it to make sure it was ok. Nice atmosphere and good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    95
    25
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This bar / restaurant looks small from the street but it goes way back and goes upstairs as well. There's plenty of space and the design makes the whole place feel homely. The food was very good and the service was excellent, probably one of the quickest meals I have every received after ordering. The waitress was very good and couldn't be more helpfull.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My first and only visit to this place, I was there recently and was drinking bottles of Heineken at 5.10 a bottle which is robbery for starters but only to notice that the bottles were all off licence bottles and not from the brewery, so they buy 20 bottles for 15e and charge 5.10 a bottle for them , I checked other brands of beer that mates of mine had only to notice the same thing, so folks if u want to be robbed and like getting ripped off head straight to sonnys

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDoor, General Manager at The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Seafield 13,

We appreciate our customers taking the time to provide us with feedback as it provides up with a valuable service.
We are very sorry that you left our premises so disappointed and feeling like you did not get value for money. We strive to provide a positive experience and quality products and service to our customers . Our prices are kept very competitive when compared with other pubs in The Latin Quarter area and €5.10 would be the average price for a bottle of heineken. Our bottled beers all come directly from the brewery via our wholesaler. Our bottles are all 330 ml unlike off license bottles which are 300ml. We are a Late Bar that has no cover charge although we provide entertainment such as live music and resident DJ’s 7 nights a week and we want everyone to leave with a positive impression of good service and value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good place to drop in for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a place to rest our feet and get a bit of lunch. The food was the usual bar food and the beer was quenching. The highlight was Kieran, the bartender. He had a great personality and helped make lunch worthwhile. Would we go back? Yes

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here both nights that we stayed in Galway. Nice atmosphere, friendly and prompt service, good variety of food and fair prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.