We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional pubfare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant

Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant
Clybaun Road | Galway, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 525 315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 356 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional pubfare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place was recommended by Madeline, owner of Atlantic heights B&B in Galway. The food was so good that we went there all 3 nights of our stay! Not only was the food exceptional but the staff were amazing too. Roisin M was so lovely that we requested her to be our server each night. On the last night, several people came over to ask where we were headed and offered suggestions. The bar manager was exceedingly helpful in teaching me the nuances of single malt Irish whiskey. He let me sample several to decide on a specific brand to give as a gift.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Jeff L,

Thanks for your review and kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Tom Sheridan's and hope the rest of your travels went well.

Kindest Regards,

Martin Meehan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

as a regular visitor to tom sheridans bar its great to see them taking pride in their food, every time i come here either on my own or with a group of freinds the standard of food is excellent. the bar it self is cosy and inviting the staff are freindly and always there to help you with questions. i was in there recently and had the 1/2 chicken caesar salad from the new menu it was lovely to get something so fresh instead of your bog standard caesar that you get in every second cafe. i cannot wait for my next visit to try all the goodies available, well done to the kitchen team keep up trhe good work

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Duboboy,

Thanks for the recent review, looks like you enjoyed it, glad to any feedback from customers especially when it is so positive.

Sincere Regards,

Martin Meehan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fantastic fish and chips and salmon. Good atmosphere, nice prawns for appetizer. Would definitely recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Cat_In_RI,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. And we're delighted you enjoyed the seafood.

Safe travelling and kind regards,

Martin Meehan,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A welcoming traditional Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I loved the 'Buzz' and atmosphere with great staff all of whom have a very welcoming attitude. Excellent Bar food at reasonable prices. Conversation seems to be important and TV is curtailed. A wide range of drinks very well presented.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Seamus,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Safe travelling and hope to see you again soon.

Sincere Regards,

Martin Meehan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local Gastropub. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014



What's not to love about Tom Sheridan's? The minute you enter the bar staff make you feel like you have been coming for years even if you don't frequent there as much you would like. Remembering the little details is what makes you come back and that is not easy considering the amount of locals at the heart of Sheridan's.
You can eat downstairs if you want something more relaxed and enjoy the vibe but for me the restaurant is a cut above. It's here they prove you don't need to go to town to have a great meal on a Saturday night. The menu has the usual classics that you would expect but you can see that the chef is of a higher calibre and is striving to give his diners something more than pub grub but still maintaining value for money. The restaurant service is very much in line with the food. Its professional but friendly but not obtrusive. It will suit a romantic evening or get together with friends or family
If you live in the area you wont get much more bang for your buck than Tom Sheridan





Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Galwayfoodygirl,

Thanks for your recent review and kind words, you really painted a good picture of Sheridan's. Hope we can keep up the good work and hope to see you in Sheridans again.

Kind Regards,

Martin Meehan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.