We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely farm steeped in History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rathbaun Farm

Rathbaun Farm
Ardrahan, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 635385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 73 Activities in Galway
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely farm steeped in History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stopped at Rathbaun Farm on a group Tour. Beautiful property, especially seeing the original part of the house. Frances is a wonderful hostess and guided us in the making of scones which turned out delicious. While the scones were baking we were given a presentation by Finton (?) on the operation of the farm. It was strange to see people oohing and aahing over the lambs in the pens and then to look up and see the breed name followed by text 'best meat' - reality can be a bit offputting. It was raining at the time and after the dog had rounded up and penned 3 sheep and a lamb Finton sheared the wet lamb - as an Australian found this most peculiar - ah well, to each his own.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Rathbaun Farms as part of our Irish Tour. The old thatched home was remarkable and the tea party was fun and delicious. My teenage boys said it was the best food they had had. The animals were adorable and there were many babies! The herding demonstration was neat and the young dog did quite well. The family was friendly and eager to share about their home and farm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great and Friendly People.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The farm is gorgeous and has a lot of history. Your are welcomed with freshly baked scones, that are amazing. You can purchase the scone recipe and cutters. The man that works on the farm, family has owned it for many years. The house has a lot of history and is in great condition with a thatch roof.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was a part of the Globus tour, and it is a must see! The farm is gorgeous. The freshly baked scones were delicious, accompanied by the tea. The sheep are adorable, and the dogs have the most sanguine personalities, even the neighbor's dog! You see the sheep sheared and dog herding. You can purchase the scone recipe and cutters, which I did, and it was similar to my recipe but it was better. Lol. Highly recommend. Very nice couple.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delightful time at the farm with 2 day old lambs.!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visited Rathbaun Farms as part of our Royal Irish Tour in May 2014.
This "hobby" farm was immaculately kept by a lovely couple who genuinely enjoyed sharing it with the tourists.
After the herding and shearing demos we wander the grounds, took pictures of the thatched buildings, and sheep& horse, then inside for tea an Frances' famous scones.!!
All in all a terrific stop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathbaun Farm also viewed

 

Been to Rathbaun Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathbaun Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.