We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathbaun Farm

Rathbaun Farm
Ardrahan, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 635385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 73 Activities in Galway
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Lawrenceburg, IN
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stopped at Rathbaun Farm on the last leg of a group tour around Ireland. As with most of my experiences in Ireland, it's the people who make the difference. Fintan and Frances Connolly (hope I'm spelling that right) are absolutely charming people who made us feel right at home. The provided lunch was simple (salad, scones and a rhubarb crumble) but very fresh and tasty. We were taken out back to watch their Border Collie corral the sheep, and some in the group were able to feed a few.

The comment from one reviewer that they felt like the experience is geard toward children has me fuddled. This place is wonderful for ALL ages. The farm itself is beautiful, with a massive thatched roof, lovely ivy and an abundance of flowers...why someone would think that only kids would enjoy it is beyond me.

As our bus pulled away, Fintan and Frances stood at the end of the drive and waved goodbye to us. It was a delightful end to a very charming and worthwhile experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fabulous scones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited Rathbaun Farm with a bus tour, saw a working border collie heard sheep into a pen, watched a sheep being sheered but best of all was the tea, scones and clotted cream, best scones I have ever had. The lady of the house, sorry I don't remember her name, was an excellent hostess and funny to listen to, great time.
No idea what the cost of this is as I was part of a bus tour and it was included in the itinerary.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Charming visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Best stop of the CIE tour. The border collie working the sheep and the shearing was fun to experience. Loved the freshly baked, warm scones...elevates what a scone should be! Best taste of the trip. So yummy with the clotted cream and jam.

The farm buildings and the old farm house were so charming. Loved the peat fire in the hearth. The garden was lovely. The dogs on the property made it very welcoming and felt like a real home.

Great stop and experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on our Globus tour and it was nice. Bit school field trip ish but we made scones that were delicious!

Got relieved of €5 for a card with the recipe on it and three scone cutters..

The other highlight was a demonstration of a sheep dog herding a flock of lambs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Down the Farm in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stopped here on our Brendan tour, great stop. This is a working farm and got to see a border collie round up sheep, sheer sheep, and assorted goats, cows and sheep on hand. Frances made scones and tea, fresh made among the best we had. The old house on the property is a thatched cottage with a peat burning fire.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathbaun Farm also viewed

 

Been to Rathbaun Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathbaun Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.