We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kai

Kai
Sea Road, Galway, Ireland
+353 (0)91 526003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went for an meal on Friday evening to celebrate a birthday. We had heard so many good reports of the restaurant that we couldn't wait to experience it first hand. We were not disappointed. The starters were different but very nice. I had raw John Dory which was really nice. My wife had crab and relish cold salad. We both would probably prefer hot starters but these were so tasty. For main courses, I had a steak which was top class, cooked perfectly and very tender. My wife had rack of lamb which she said was delicious. The potatoes in Kai are their big speciality, I liked them so much we got extras. And better still they didn't charge us for these, a very nice touch that so many restaurants fall badly on! Our dessert was berry messy, meringue with fresh fruit and this was really nice. Overall one of our nicest meals in Galway and we will definitely be back again soon. Also the staff were excellent and very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    86
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, way over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Came here from London, heard great things. We had 3 starters, 4 mains, bottle of wine for 180 EURO!!!
Service was good. 2 mains had heavy mustard sauce. Turbot smothered in it which was a shame. Crab salad was not seasoned. So overall I have to say disappointed....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kai, Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant is small but comfortable - we got a cancellation. The service was great, friendly, helpful on choosing dishes and professional. I had the fish (South African); the dish was well presented, lovely flavours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Special occasion or night on the town this is the place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went here last week with 3 friends on a special occasion. 3 courses and all of us we delighted with our meals. Lots of flavour, variety on the menu, beautiful presentation and delicious. Well worth every penny. If its a bit to pricey for some the lunch menu is a great cheaper option. They obviously know and love food and they share that with every customer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good we had lunch AND dinner there on the same day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A chance conversation with the fishmonger on the market led us to the sea road and Kai for lunch last Saturday. We loved it and one look at the dinner menu made us ask for a table for that night. I guess we got the very last table of the 6.30 sitting. We wondered whether it might be a bit early for us and whether we would be rushed through the meal but when we were reassured that we would have until 9pm we decided to go for it. And aren't we glad we did! We probably had one of the most enjoyable restaurant meal we ever had (and we had a fair few mostly in France, Italy, Spain, Greece and the UK). From the Elderflower Bellini onwards the meal was a delight. The freshest produce were prepared with flair, originality, integrity and, I would say, love. Very professional and assured too but without the pretensions too often encountered with meals of this quality. We are fish and seafood lovers and we were not disappointed. What we particularly liked was the fact that all dishes combined an element of surprise with total respect for the taste of the basic ingredient. Everything also looked beautiful without being fussy, which is not always that easy to achieve! Respect of the ingrédients,great attention to detail, original simplicity and elegance all contributed to a memorable meal. Jess is to be highly praised of course but so is the team around her. Great food would not be as enjoyable without the right environment. The restaurant itself is welcoming and informal and all the staff manage to combine total professionalism with a warm and friendly manner. Every diner is given time and made feel special, no matter how busy the restaurant is. No mean feat! So, bravo Kai for making a great week-end in Galway even more enjoyable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai also viewed

 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.