We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, ambience and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai

Kai
Sea Road, Galway, Ireland
+353 (0)91 526003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rainbow City, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, ambience and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent flavors, quaint atmosphere. I had the vegetarian entree-artichoke that was battered and fried with a sauce and a medley of green veggies- asparagus with peas. All delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    86
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“flavour of the month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Shamus and i had lunch here a few weeks ago the restaurant is a real funky little spot . menu was really nice, food was unreal . i ordered a fish pie with side salad i didn't want it to end . Incredible infusion of tastes all blending together to create amazing flavours using beautiful ingredients ...... staff really friendly ......lovely to see it busy .well recommended restauranr and well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A local favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have yet to be anything but entirely impressed with Kai - have brought an eclectic group of friends and family here over the past two years and the feedback has always been more than positive. Wholesome, varied menu (the feta and spinach filo pastry being a personal favourite), consistently friendly staff and a fantastic building makes it my Galway favourite. Recently, following a lengthy lunch with friends on a busy Saturday, on paying the bill, my friends and I were given complimentary scones to take home as they were closing between lunch and dinner menus - a very nice touch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place to dine with gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Headed by a female chef from New Zealand, the food at Kai is one of the best and most creative fusion restaurant I've ever been. The food not only has big and balanced flavours, but also beautifully dressed or decorated. The Chocolate and Mongo cake I had had interesting texture (the mongo mouse) and great exotic flavours. The 42 below kiwi sorbet (made with 42Below kiwi-flavoured vodka from New Zealand) was refreshing and great with some summery daisy pink flowers (and yes they are edible). The waiters were professional and friendly. The place is a successful renovated project set in a stone house next to a church. The dining environment is cosy, homey but not pretentious. Don't miss it if you are at Galway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claregalway
2 reviews
“Nice Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is one of the mostg popular Restaurant and Chef in Galway and the West of Ireland,
we went for lunch with my girlfriend and her mother, got a nice smoked salmon salad, a spinach and feta tart and a green asparagus salad.
The only downturn for us was a luck of atmosphere, and too little choice on the menu.
We also enjoy a nice homemade cake and coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai also viewed

 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.