We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai

Kai
Sea Road, Galway, Ireland
+353 (0)91 526003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 356 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Everything we had was so tasty, I had the farmplate of vegetables and they were truly delicious followed by a striploin perfectly cooked. Service was excellent so friendly and helpful when deciding from the menu. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    73
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“i wish kai opened years ago!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ive eaten in Kai many times now, mostly for their famous lunches and have experienced the evening service twice. On all accounts it has been the most inspired eating experience Ive had to date in Galway, and quite possibly ireland. The interior is really comfy, atmospheric and stylish, the staff are interested, interesting and very prompt. But its the food that draws me down to that side of town over and over again. A daily menu that screams fluency in her local produce, respect and balance in her ingredients and inspiration in its construction. And fairly sensitive to the pocket considering the quality of produce. Do yourself a favour , eat at Kai.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food avarage, service was nice and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Service was nice. Food not as high as expected. Nothing special about it and not creative. We were disappointed after reading great reviews about it. We would not recommended to our friends if the would like go for a special Food night out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spent a wonderful evening - enjoying great food in a warm and hospitable atmosphere.
Whilst the mains may be considered somewhat on the "pricey" side the service and great cuisine make up for it.
Thanks for bringing a bit of kiwiana into Galway.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best I've had in Galway so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We ate at in the room upstairs, the service was excellent, very relaxed and friendly. We had the room upstairs to ourselves. The food was perfect, not under or over stated, some interesting dishes, local foods. I had the steak - bang on. A really interesting restaurant with a real focus on food and ingredients, a great addition to Galway. I'll be going again when ever I'm back West

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai also viewed

 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.