We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food in Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Cafe Restorante

Venice Cafe Restorante
20 Lower Abbeygate Street, Galway, Ireland
091-530751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 354 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this restaurant on our last night in Ireland. It was raining, but there was a man in the plaza wearing a sandwich board advertising the cafe and pointing out where it was. Normally, I'd avoid such a place, but decided to check it out. The restaurant was small (only 6-8 tables) but looked very authentic. I lived in Italy for a year, so am always looking for Italian restaurants with authentic cooking. I wasn't disappointed! Brought my husband back and had one of my best Italian meals outside of Italy! Wonderful brushetta and pasta, topped off with a a supurb tiramisu. Had a good wine that I'm looking for now that I'm back in the States. Great service and Andrea Boccelli playing in the background. Quite reasonably priced also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    59
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Happy we went!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this place on our walk back to the hotel and agreed we were in the mood for Italian after several terrible pub dinners in Ireland. I looked it up on tripadvisor before we went and the reviews were great so we figured we would give it a go and we were happy we went! We both had pizza, large portions, one was 10 euro and the other was 13 euro. We ordered side salads that never came but they didn't charge us and were we happy about it because we ended up not wanting them anyway. (I would have given 5 stars except for that small mistake) House wine was fine at 4.50 euro, service excellent and lovely ambiance. Definitely would recommend it! Bill was 30 euro total for two of us!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Touch of Italy in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This cafe is located down a side street off the pedestrian mall near the centre of Galway. We had no trouble finding it because there was a man in the plaza wearing a sandwich board advertising the cafe and pointing out where it was.

The cafe is only small. The food and wine were good as was the service. A nice place to have a pizza in Galway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was amazing. The pizzas arefab I would highly recommend this restaurant if ur looking for good value, good food and above all good service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice authentic and intimate Italian restaurant just off the main drag in Galway centre. Busy enough on a Thurs that we had to wait 15 mins at 8.30 for a table but worth it. Excellent Pizza and pasta. Dinner for two with bottle of wine about 50 euros.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Cafe Restorante also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Venice Cafe Restorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Cafe Restorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.