We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Cafe

High Cafe
2 High Street, Galway, Ireland
0035391532648
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“great food great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

went there for a birthday treat and everyone enjoyed their meal
excellent colourfull plate of salad as a side on some mains

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    56
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Champagne for the price of lemonade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Allison our friendly waitress was well informed on the menu and helped us with our choice, Dining out for me is more of a treat when the food is different. High Cafe does chicken with texture and flavour I never had before, the tagine was amazing as indeed the chicken skewer.
Two mains two extra sides and tea for one €29.30 on a bank holiday weekend represents terrific value. Doorway between two pubs with a sharp stairs, clean restrooms, good food with great choice that will not break the bank, I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We came here with a friend who likes this place. We also enjoyed! We ordered falafels and garlic cheese bread. The waitress appeared to have some difficulty understanding what we wished! But a short moment later, here were our dishes, on a wood serving board! It was good and a nice-size portion, even the starter size! (There is not much difference between starter and main size!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Regular Galway reviewer - Won't be back here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I eat out regularly in Galway - I reviewed this place last Summer and I thought it was average at best. I must say I'm shocked at the amount of positive reviews High Cafe gets.

I went back again last month, this time with a group. The service was friendly but was overstaffed. Food was a little slow coming but not to worry. Food, dreadful. The ravine was watery and tasteless. The lamb was tough. The pizza was really poor. Too many toppings, two of which weren't on he menu, I asked for salami and pepperoni but only got one meat and when I said this to the waitress she replied saying they are very similar.

Anyway no one thought much of the food.

It's not expensive and you can bring your own drink, these and it's location are the only positives. If it wasn't so centrally located it would struggle to survive. I'd love to see Gordon Ramsey analyse this joint...he'd rip it apart.

If you're a foodie, there's a heap of better restaurants in Galway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab food for great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

lovely fresh food, generous portions and great price. nice cosy atmosphere in there too, great for meeting groups of friends

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cafe also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to High Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.