We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick must see in Galway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spanish Arch

The Spanish Arch
Spanish Arch, Galway, Ireland
353-91-563081
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 162 things to do in Galway
Attraction details
Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A quick must see in Galway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

To tourists that have never visited Galway the Spanish Arch seems to be a time consuming attraction. I beg to differ. Although I do think that it is important to visit the Spanish Arch with some knowledge of the history of Galway it is not a particularly long excursion. The Arch is a rich piece of Galway's history and the surrounding restaurants and view of the Claddagh, River and Bay are definitely worth the visit, especially on a nice day. The Galway City Museum sits right next to the Arch, it is free and definitely worth the visit! On a fine day I suggest grabbing a sandwich from McCambridge's (on shop street) and heading to the Spanish Arch to enjoy the view!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    40
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nothing to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

An arch, that's it, not big or with any further explanation, an old construction in the middle of the way that can be easily missed while looking for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toquerville, Utah
2 reviews
“Great Food, Great Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I had the Bangers and Mash and Seafood Stew, the food was superb. This Pub had great atmosphere, unequaled to most places I have been! Live music was fantastic! i would definitely go back.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Take a quick Picture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I wouldn't spend loads of time there but it's interesting to see something so old still standing proud.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Strongly Depends Upon You and Weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I had studied the historical significance of the arch before my first trip. When I arrived in May 2009, the grounds were filled with students enjoying the warm sunny day. They added to the interest and the time we spent there. This time, on a cool September afternoon, nobody was lingering, including us. We looked at the arches from all angles and retreated back up the quay to discuss what we saw.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spanish Arch also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Spanish Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spanish Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.