We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An established and yet emerging irish university” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)

National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)
University Road, Galway, Ireland
+353-91-493361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 162 things to do in Galway
Attraction details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An established and yet emerging irish university”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

City but preserved setting on shore of Corrib with mixture of old Queens University quadrangle and new IT, molecular bioscience, marine biology, etc. etc. A thriving academic merit-driven university! Features Irish language and literature as well

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonbur Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Galway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is not possible to visit old Galway without taking in the old part of Queen's college now NUIG. Known as the quad, it has that old period feel about it. Who knows you might stumble upon a performance in the Aula Maxima

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a lovely university”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My friend who is from Navan came out and took me all over Galway. I wanted to get gifts at the University, so we walked across the bridge and over to the campus. It is absolutely beautiful. The old buildings are especially lovely architecture.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PADUCAH, KENTUCKY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT QUILT FESTIVAL IN IRELAND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

i am very surprised to read one of the people on this site complained about the quilt festival in galway, ireland. i attended with twenty five ladies from my quilt quild and i also am from paducah, kentucky where we host a lovely quilt festival.

it is my opinion of the new idea of a quilters village ate the university grounds was a terrific idea. i do think there could have been more signs, but i would not fault the festival itself. that can be improved on next year, since this past year was the first time they did the festival.

i think anyone who goes to the international quilt festival in ireland will experience a marvelous time. don't miss it, it was really a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“International Quilt Festival of Ireland 2012 was disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I attended the International Quilt Festival at the University with a large group of quilters who spent three days at various events on campus. Many of us were lost a great deal of the time. The organizers of the quilt festival claimed that the University wouldn't let them post additional signs, but the buildings were hard to find. The quilts were in various buildings throughout the campus, and I missed a lot of them. The castle was the best building, and that's where the Quilt Garden quilts were displayed. The quilts in other buildings were in classrooms and various halls that were hard to find. Classes with quilting instructors were canceled without notice by the quilt festival organizers. There were surprisingly few vendors at the quilt festival. I would attend the 2013 quilt festival with caution.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG) also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.