We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Woodfield, Barna Road | Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Being from "Down Under" we were made to feel so at home at this very well run B & B. Caroline and Larry were very accomodating and their knowledge of the area and where to go and what to see was second to none. We have no hesitation in recommending Kilbrack House and its owners to anyone wanting a first rate place to stay in Galway.
Sue and George
Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in several B&Bs during our 14 day tour or Ireland and Northern Ireland, and this was definitely our best stay. The home is beautiful, welcoming, and tastefully decorated, rooms/bathrooms immaculate. This is a very professionally run B&B, and Caroline and Larry the best hosts we encountered on our 4 weeks touring Scotland and Ireland. We were a little worn out and tired after a long day of sightseeing, and were astounded and happy when Caroline/Larry apparently noticed this and offered to drive us to a wonderful pub for a cold beer and pub food (not your average pub food, definitely restaurant quality!). Under different circumstances we could/would have walked to this great pub (Donnelly's), but this gesture clearly shows the astuteness and caring mindset of our hosts. When we left the next day (we wished we had planned to stay longer, but by then we were committed and could not cancel our next B&B), Larry gave us wonderful information and instructions to drive through Connemara (magical!). We loved everything about this B&B and feel it definitely deserves a higher than 3 star rating. Thank you, Caroline and Larry, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Kilbrack House. The owners were very nice, helpful, knowledgable, and efficient. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved Coco, the owner's little spaniel! The B&B owners were very helpful with directions and suggestions of places to go. My biggest complaint was the very firm mattress and pillows. The bathroom actually had a window, which was nice since there wasn't an exhaust fan. We had an almost traditional Irish breakfast (no black or white pudding, which was fine with me) one of the mornings and it was good. We liked the locations--close to Galway City, Barna, and Spittle.

Side note about Galway City---the driving was more stressful in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Caroline and Larry were absolutely wonderful hosts. Their home was very clean and beatiful. They made our breakfast to order and presented it with Irish china settings. They were willing with advise and very friendly. Definitely recommend Kilbrack House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Accommodation in Kilbrack House felt like we were occupying a room in a friends house, such was the atmosphere created by Larry and his wife. The House was very clean and neat, wifi tea/coffee in each room and the guest lounge appeared very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good, with a selection of cereals, cold and hot foods and fruit provided.
Larry and his wife pleasant and helpful Larry gave us excellent advice on places to see and roads to take around Clifden and Cong (where the annual Quiet Man Festival happened to be occurring with one of its stars, Maureen O’Hara, as the 2011 special guest).
A laundrette was 10 minutes driving away.
Highly recommended for a night in Galway, a much larger than expected and interesting city!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here travelling with a friend through Europe. The entire family was kind, welcoming, and very generous. Upon arrival, they did not have our exact room available that we had reserved, so they were able to give us each our own room at no extra charge. It was a little further our from the city center of Galway, but the accomodations and hospitality were definitely worth it. Easy to taxi to Galway, clean accomodations, more modern decor, and a great Irish welcome. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Woodfield, Barna Road | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.