We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something For Everyone, Splendid Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Cork,Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone, Splendid Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Just returned from a visit to Galway and stayed at The Galway Bay. Perfect location on the promenade, with a great view from our 1st Floor Room..From our arrival we were treated in a courteous and respectful manner by all staff members. The room was ready when we arrived, was very clean and airy.. When we returned from our breakfast each morning our rooms had been cleaned, causing the minimum of fuss to us. The Foyer is also a relaxing area where one can relax and have a view onto the seafront outside..
This hotel is always worth a visit and will be top of my list for any future return to Galway

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    306
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
423
513
58
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is a great hotel. The location overlooking galway bay is fantastic. Take a stroll on the prom and you could be in santa monica! Excellent food in the restaurant. Friendly service. Helpful staff. It is a great base for exploring galway city or indeed spiddal and the west. And great rates too, will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was are third visit to The Galway Bay Hotel (perfect stop off for travelling). The only thing that's changed in the hotel is less staff, especially in the dinig areas.

It's an OK hotel, guests are either american tourists on short one nighters or young families on a short stop off.

The lobby is bland & bright, a bit clinical, the pub is dark and dull with no life and the rooms are standard with a lack of house keeping.

Breakfast was fine, nonthing to write home about, the reception desks staff were fantastic although their working conditions are cramped and left check in guests puzzeled on how to form a queue in such a small space.

If your looking for a short stop off one night accommadation I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I must admit that I am rather surprised to read your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would be very happy to discuss.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed in the Galway Bay last weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Salthill hasn't realy changed since I holidayed there as a kid with my parents and I was having flashbacks as I drove along the prom! The reception staff were very friendly and our room was ready for us when we arrived. It was very well furnished with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for years - so much so that I was considering smuggling the mattress home with me!

As part of our booking, dinner was included on one night in the Lobster Pot restaurant. While most people seemed to rave about the food, we were not impressed. I would expect a lot more from a good hotel than the standard boiled broccoli, cauliflower and carrot/parsnip batons with some mediocre baby potatoes as a side order. Lazy and not appropriate. On a positive note, the breakfast (which we had delivered to our room for a very reasonable charge) was excellent and we were both very impressed indeed.

The bar staff were very friendly, the cocktail menu was fully explored and we celebrated our weekend in style!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Was there on a business trip and arrived late. In my room the hot water tap would not work, the heating would not work and the curtains would not close properly leaving bright lights outside all nights. To be fair I reported it and the staff tried that night tried to get it sorted and the manager gave me a free drink in the bar. The breakfast was very ordinary with only reasonable service. They have signs up all over advertising their awards one being teh best 4 star hotel in Ireland. I stay in hotels every week and have stayed in better 3 star hotels by a mile. At best satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. Naturally, I am extremely concerned when any guest leaves the hotel less than 100% happy. I would like to apologize most sincerely and I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the Galway Bay Hotel. I would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel should you wish to return please contact me directly at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would like to take personal care of the detail and hopefully get the opportunity to say hello at some stage during your visit.
Kindest Regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed in Galway Bay hotel for a long weekend with Friends. Rooms were very spacious, fresh and clean. The hotel bars had a great atmosphere, great wine list and the residents bar made our weekend. The food in the bistro was excellent value. The staff are very pleasant and eager to enhance our stay. Pristine location. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

On arrival we noticed there was a wedding in the hotel and knew that getting a good night’s sleep was not going to happen. Low and behold we were right. We were awake most of the night because of the noise outside our window. Luckily enough there wasn’t too much noise inside the hotel.

The next morning when we went down for breakfast the first thing I noticed was a child running his fingers through the cereal which was on display and nobody telling him to stop.

The hot breakfast was actually cold and minimum portions put on our plate.

I found the hotel lacking in atmosphere and warmth.

I personally don’t understand why it is a 4 star hotel because I’ve stead in better 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I was very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay here. As a team we have discussed this and all here would like to apologize most sincerely. It is our collective aim now to try and regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel. I would be delighted if you would drop me a line personally at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com
Kindest Regards,
Dan Murphy .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.