We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle of the Ball” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
1 review
“Belle of the Ball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our university society recently held our Masquerade Ball here in the beautiful Ballyvaughan Suite! Everything from the mulled wine reception to the delicious 4- course meal was exquisite. All the staff truly looked after us and were extremely helpful and friendly. Barbara Hehir, the manageress who took care of us for the night was a pleasure and was there to help if we needed. The whole night was a huge success and this couldn't have been without thanks to the wonderful team working at the Galway Bay Hotel. A warm thanks to Barbara, Paul from the bar and all the lovely ladies who helped make our night one to remember!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Grainne,
Thank you most sincerely for this super feedback. I am delighted that your event here was a great success. Thankfully, we receive a lot of feedback very similar to your feedback. You mention Barbara and Paul specifically and they pass on their heartfelt gratitude to you. Like Barbara and Paul, I have a wonderful team here in the Galway Bay Hotel whom are so focused and passionate when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently. Thank you once again. Sincere regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    306
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
423
513
58
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recently stayed in the Galway Bay Hotel and was very impressed overall. Food was excellent and the facilities were top class. Enjoyed the fun in the bar where the staff were very friendly, including the bar manager Trevor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear ‘BosBruins’,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had a very pleasant stay. Your feedback has been passed on to all on the team and all are very grateful, particularly Trevor whom you mention specifically. Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Best regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked a weekend away in Galway and decided to book this hotel having heard good reviews from friends. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, very spacious and a very nice bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was very good indeed and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and attentive. We then went for a few drinks in the hotel bar which was busy and had a good atmosphere.
We had bar food on the Saturday night and I would highly recommend it. It was really nice, good sized portions and well presented.
There was a good atmosphere in the hotel all weekend. I think there were weddings on both nights which added to the atmosphere. The staff were very accommodating and looked after our every need, I would highly recommend staying in the hotel to any one visiting Galway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ‘LJH82’,
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted to see that you had a very pleasant time with us.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and I am very happy to read that you found the bedroom to be lovely and very spacious. I am also delighted to see that you found the quality of the food in the Lobster Pot Restaurant and the quality of food in our main bar to be excellent, with a great atmosphere in both areas. Thankfully this is feedback which I receive on a very regular basis. I am also delighted that you found all on the team to be very accommodating.

Thank you for recommending us to all and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Warmest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Will be back.Food in the bar was very good - enjoyed the burger. Location overlooking Galway Bay On Salthill Prom is perfect. Rooms are spacious and well aappointed. Full leisure Centre with pool if you feel energetic!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ‘misedi’,
Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for visiting the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a nice experience whilst here.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I have passed this on to all on the team. Zdenka is thrilled to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and she passes on her gratitude to you – you have made her day! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again at some stage in the future.
Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Good food and service in the bar. Our server Zdenka looked after us very well. Reception staff very good and quick with check in and all enquiries rooms clean and comfortable, when I stayed here there was a wedding on it was ran so well and separate other guests would not know the wedding was on excellent will be coming back to this hotel, excellent job

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear James,
Thank you for very nice comments and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and most encouraging. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team here in the Galway Bay Hotel so passionate when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed one night at the Galway Bay Hotel. It was just perfect. Excellent Hotel, nice Room and a very good, professional and friendly Hotel Team. The view was breathtaking and the quality of the Bed was amazing. On top we got a very good breakfast. I would highly recommend this Hotel for your stay in Galway. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ‘vocalhero’

Thank you for this very nice review and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and all of the team are delighted. Thank you for highly recommending the Galway Bay Hotel to all.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Used the hotel to house delegates for an annual conference. Comments received ranged from "Good" to "perfect". Staff have a friendly and can do attitude. We will, most certainly, use the hotel again in the future and would highly recommend the hotel to all visitors to Galway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Eamonn,

Thank you for your very positive feedback. I am delighted that your delegates found the Galway Bay Hotel to be a very favourable conference destination. Thankfully, we have a very strong conference and corporate business level which conference and corporate guests availing of our numerous facilities such as complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel, dedicated business centre with ‘printme’ facilities etc which are all very popular. Of course our numerous corporate and conference guests really enjoy our location on the promenade and always avail of the superb views and walks on our doorstep. Thank you again Eamonn on behalf of all on the team.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.