We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing galway bay hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing galway bay hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just spent 3 days in Galway Bay Hotel with my bridge club. It was wonderful , food was amazing staff could not do enough for us,, rooms were so comfortable. We want to go back. Thank you all
also location was magic , there is nothing quite like the sun going down on Galway Bay
Teresa W

Room Tip: It is lovely to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Teresa,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome, particularly regarding the wonderful food you received, the amazing staff and the comfortable rooms. I am delighted also that you really enjoyed our location , on the promenade in Salthill on the outskirts of the vibrant Galway City and indeed the views from the hotel of the beautiful Clare Hills and the famous Galway Bay . You are quite correct when you say that there is nothing quite like watching the sun going down on Galway Bay as the old and famous song goes!

Thank you again Teresa and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again soon .

Warmest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    341
    162
    52
    24
See reviews for
467
568
64
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

At a wedding in this hotel. Room was lovely. The swimming pool was tiny the steam room was out of order the jacuzzi was only about a foot deep. The service at the wedding meal was very poor. Too long between each course. They could have done with a lot more staff for serving meal. Hotel itself was very nice. Would only classify it as a three star at the most. Toilets need to be kept clean all the time no papers thrown around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear ‘alilia60’,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review the Galway Bay Hotel following on from your recent visit here.

Naturally, I am extremely concerned and to be honest quite shocked to read your feedback. I say this because I take an active part in the operation of all wedding receptions myself and I have to say that the feedback I receive from all guests at all wedding receptions is overwhelmingly positive, particularly regarding the structured approach to all aspects of guest service, including the positive personality, professionalism, efficiency and friendliness of all on the team. I receive over 250 pieces of guest feedback from hotel guests on a weekly basis all uploaded on to a very comprehensive guest feedback log with no reference to this type of service.

Only last month we had our unannounced Failte Ireland audit and once again we received a 91% Four Star grading. This is one of the highest scores for a four star hotel in the country. We have been the proud recipient of CIE Tours Intl Best Four star Hotel in Ireland on three occasions over the course of the last number of years. We have also been the very proud recipient of the Deloitte Best Managed Company Award, Gold level for each of the last three years – the only hotel in Ireland to receive this. This year we have received the EFQM (European Foundation for Quality Management) award for excellence in all areas throughout the hotel; we are the only hotel in Europe to receive this very sought after award this year.

Thank you again and I would welcome the opportunity to liaise in person at some stage.
Kind regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in the Galway Bay Hotel for 1 night with my family,large parking spaces friendly staff behind reception, rooms were quite small for myself and my 2 adult daughters it was more like a double room than a family 1 but very clean and beds very comfortable. I did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast the next morning which was nice, overall i would stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear ‘claralara54’,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that you are happy to recommend the Galway Bay Hotel to all. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent two wonderful nights at your hotel....what a delightful experience. Room was immaculate, and comfortable, majestic view of Galway Bay, congenial staff and delightful meals. ....and the gorgeous desserts! Will never forget "coming across the sea to Ireland", and Galway Bay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Lois,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time whilst staying with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome, particularly regarding the quality of our guest bedrooms, the views from the hotel, the quality of the food and indeed the quality of the team. You particularly menti on the desserts and I have passed your feedback on to our Pastry Chef , Alex and he sends on his sincere gratitude to you.

Thank you again most sincerely and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again in the future.
Warmest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had our wedding there and stayed for two nights. The Hotel was amazing. Every single staff member was super and could not do enough for us for the whole weekend. The room was very very comfortable, the food was delicious, anything we needed/wanted was seen to very promptly. I would highly recommend this hotel for any function or a weekend break away.

Room Tip: ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Meabh,
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel for your recent wedding reception . I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us.

Your positive comments are most encouraging and very welcome. A very special occasion for you is most definitely a very special occasion for all on the team here and we really enjoy ‘pulling out all the stops’ to ensure everything is always 110%. I remember dealing with your good self and Andrew myself and it was a real pleasure to meet with you both every time. I wish you every success, health and happiness in the future and hopefully we will see you again so on here in the hotel.
Thank you also for recommending us to all. Sincerest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A fine modern hotel, good location, great food and drink. The rooms are a good size and clean. It is a great location for exhibitions and conferences. As a hotel i would recommend it for any traveller for any occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you sincerely for staying here recently and thank you also for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us. Your positive feedback is most encouraging and I will ensure thatthis is pass on to all on the team. thank you again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again so on . Kindest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just spent a few days with my bridge club friends in this hotel and I was so happy with the staff and the service we received. Considering the hotel was full the food was incredible and served so efficiently each day. The management are obviously very choosy when picking their staff as everyone I came in contact with we're very helpful and friendly. It is an ideal location with a lovely beach in front and I will definitely visit this hotel again . Well done Galway Bay .

Room Tip: As not all rooms are sea view I would request one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Teresa,
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel with your bridge club recently and thank you also for your super feedback. all on the team are thrilled to see that you had such a nice time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome, particularly regarding the quality of the food you received and the efficient service. You are quite correct, we are very fussy when it comes to choosing new team members. We have four Core Values which we adhere to at all times including the interview and selection process. These Core Values are Positive Personality, Flexibility, Honesty and Cost Conscious – all which are very close to all we do at all times.

Thank you again Teresa and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome your group back again in the future.
Best regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.