We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galway Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Galway Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy. A city with a traditional Irish town feeling shop eat listen to music have a drink or enjoy a sport of you choice. From the Galway bay hotel you are with in walking distance to beach, golf course or enjoy the leisure center in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Seamus,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this super feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    306
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
423
513
58
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My daughter had her wedding reception in the galway bay hotel. The management and staff did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and relaxed to enjoy our special day. The food was beautiful, the service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Thanks very much to everyone we had a brilliant day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Marian,

Thank you most sincerely for this super feedback. I am delighted that
you had such a wonderful day with us.

A special day for you is a very special day for all of us here in the
Galway Bay Hotel. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team whom are
so motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service
to all guests consistently. Also, we all realy enjoy providing little
touches and extras to ensure all special occassions are truly memorable.

Your positive feedback regarding the excellent team, excellent service
and excellent quality of food is most rewarding to all and all send on
thier heartfelt gratitude to you.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the
near future.

Sincerest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were booked through a CIE tour and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. The staff went out of their way to take care of our group of 40 people. We were across the street from Galway Bay. Beautiful view!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you most sincerely for this wonderful feedback. All on the team
are delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time whilst staying
with us. Your positive feedback regarding the excellent quality of food,
the friendly and efficent service, the excellent staff and the beautiful
views are most welcome. Hopefully we will have the oportunity to welcome
you back to us at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a course, ive never used this site before but I had to share my Top Class Experience...I couldn't find fault, Meeting room facilities was excellent with fantastic refreshments at each break we had, lunch in the Harvest cafe was lovely and plenty to choose from and everything looked delious on display for both days. Hotel is spotless throughout, Check in after my day downstairs in the conference centre was very efficient and quick just what you want. Later in evening we Dined in the lobster Pot Restaurant, The service was first class (Thank You Alex and of course all the team)and the food was to die for, Breakfast following morning was the best I've seen plenty of choice and presentation was excellent..Overall the Staff throughout was so friendly and polite and all smiling. In Conclusion all I can say is ill be back... Thank You to the Galway Bay Hotel for this fantastic experience...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear ‘MO-CG’,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time and effort to review the Galway Bay Hotel following on from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

Your positive feedback is extremely encouraging and most rewarding to all on the team. This is similar to the vast amount of feedback which we receive on a daily basis and is obviously greatly appreciated as I use feedback such as yours to aid me when it comes to encouraging and motivating the team to perform to the highest level consistently.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again in the future.
Warm regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a two night stay and arrived at the same time as a large wedding party however check in was very efficient and we quickly found our room. The room had a smell of new paint. There was no sugar in the room and we could not find the telephone to ask for some so we returned to reception to ask for the sugar. Shortly after the sugar arrived along with a phone. However the young man could find no where to plug in the phone ???
We went out for the evening returning around 1230 by now the paint smell was very strong and eventually Steve went to reception to report realising it was too late to change rooms we asked for a manager to look into it the next day.
We had a meeting later the next day with Sergy ( not from the meerkats ). He was very upset at our treatment and told us that the room should not have been allocated. He told us the first night would not be charged and gave us a lovely suite for our next night.
We ate in the bar later and the food was plentiful and lovely - the fish n chips really nice
Would have awarded 5 stars but for the paint

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 'stevekathybithell',

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay
Hotel on your recent trip to Galway and thank you also for your very
constructive feedback. I am very happy that by enlarge you enjoyed your
stay with us.

I am terribly sorry to see that we accidently allocated you a bedroom
which was part of our ongoing refurbishment program. This bedroom should
not have been allocated to any guest in the hotel and I would like to
apologise to you once again most sincerely. I am happy to see that
Senior Assistant Manager, Sergey addressed the issue with the
seriousness with which the situation deserved. I am delighted to see that
you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and I look forward to hopefully
welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Galway Bay Hotel for a wedding weekend and we had a great time. Everything was organised very well and the hotel staff were very accommodating of us. The food is really good, the buffet breakfast and the dinner in the restaurant, as well as bar food and cakes and tea from the cafe. I think we tried something from all of the options and they didn't disappoint. Definitely worth going to again. We had a great room with lots of space (dining table and sofa) and a jacuzzi bathtub. The wedding went great and outside of all the wedding things (ceremony, meal, afters and a barbecue the next day) we all spent a lot of time in the conservatory, where there is a view of the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sinead,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel to host your
very special day recently and thank you also for your wonderful
feedback. All on the team are thrilled to see that you had such a
wonderful weekend with us.

Like your good selves many brides and grooms choose to host their very
special day here in the Galway Bay Hotel and choose to do so over the
course of a weekend. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the quality
of food in our Lobster Pot Restaurant for breakfast and dinner, our main
bar and indeed in our Harvest Cafe - this is feedback which I receive
regularly and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team of Chefs whom
are so motivated and dedicated when it comes to delivering top class
food to all guests consistently. They certainly are a super group and
they pass on thier regards to you. I am delighted also to see that you
enjoyed the views from the hotel conservatory, there is no better way to
relax than to sit and watch the 'sun go down on Galway Bay' as the old
and famous song goes...
Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Carlow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a beautiful, friendly hotel. Staff were so good, very big, spotlessly clean. The food in all areas was absolutely fabulous. As for the view its breathtaking. To be able to chill out and just look out to sea was so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 'debbiek1004',

Thank you so much for this super feedback and thank you also for
choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently.I am delighted to
see that you had a really nice time with us. I recieve approximately 250
pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis and the overwhelming majority
is a replica to your comments. I look forward to hopefully welocming you
back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.