We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were on a tour of Ireland and had the good fortune to stay at the Galway Bay Hotel. Upon arriving the Asst. Mgr. greeted us and had a table of tea and pastry set out for us. We had a fantastic conversation with this young man and how he ended up at the hotel and has stayed for 12 years....as we heard much of the staff does. The brief stay afforded me some quiet time on the enclosed veranda, as the weather was stormy; (which added to the ambiance) with a glass of wine and my kindle. everything about this hotel offered an aire of elegance; which was nice after traveling on a bus. Last but not least The Staff all walked around with giant smiles; hello' s; and can I help you! Galway is on our bucket list to go back to. thank you. Donna & Dan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time whilst staying here in the Galway Bay Hotel.
You are quite correct – a lot of the team have been working with us for long periods of time and all really love their jobs. They are a wonderful team, all so focused and motivated when it comes to delivering top class service to hotel guests consistently. They really do make my job so much easier! I am delighted to see that you had the opportunity to sit an enjoy the super views from the hotel– this is also commented on regularly as numerous guests really enjoy relaxing in one of our sea view lounges or sea view conservatories whilst watching the ‘sun go down on Galway Bay’ as the old and famous song goes..

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    307
    153
    49
    23
See reviews for
423
514
58
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Wicklow.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Myself and my wife spent 3 lovely days at this hotel last week. last time we were there was March 2012. we visited a couple of times a year over the years before March last year. As the years went by the service got very bad sometimes waiting a full hour between starter and main course. the menu last year was not great, I am sure the food was god but there was nothing to suit our taste. but that was sorted for us by management. it could be two hours by the time you order till you finish your courses. the porridge was cold last year also.
The rooms were always clean and comfortable.
when we visited last week there was a big difference, the food was great, plenty of, and the porridge was hot in the morning wit a great selection of other items also for breakfast.
The service was great, in and out in a little over an hour for main meal. The staff in all departments were still as friendly as ever.
The hotel was full each night and was the restaurant.
looking forward to our next visit back there later in the year.
Full marks to the management for the improvements.
We had a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you sincerely for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a super time with us and that you keep returning to the Galway Bay Hotel. We receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis from guests of the hotel by way of comment card, letter, e-mail, word of mouth to the costumer service management and also by follow on calls to some past guests of the hotel and I am delighted to mention that the vast majority of this feedback is overwhelmingly positive.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Galway Bay Hotel is located directly across the street from the water itself. This affords amazing views (especially during breakfast) and a quick trip to the water. It is 5 - 10 minutes to the heart of the city, and has plenty of parking available.

The service from beginning to end was top notch, with every individual that I interacted with exhibiting a mentality of working to make every guests stay phenomenal. The front desk was more than happy to suggest pubs for dinner, and of course there are several excellent choices in the hotel itself.

The room was very clean, and the bathroom beautiful with a marble vanity. The beds were comfortable and the view from the room amazing.

The breakfast had a large variety from a traditional Irish breakfast to a fruit and cheese bar. The juices were delicious, the tea hot and prompt, and the dining room itself was memorable with the beautiful view of the bay and the interesting sculptures.

Needless to say, I definitely plan on a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear‘Hexum2600’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
Your positive feedback is most welcome and all on the team pass on their sincere gratitude to you. Your feedback is very similar to the vast amounts of feedback which we receive on a weekly basis – we receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback weekly by way of guest comment card, letter, e-mail, word of mouth to costumer service managers and indeed by follow on calls by our sales team to a select amount of past hotel guests and as I say the overwhelming amount of this feedback is hugely positive and similar to your feedback.

Thank you again most sincerely and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I organised a three day break for our local retirement group. Everyone thoroughly enjoy it. The quality of the rooms was very high and the food could not have been better prepared. The service is the sort that you would expect in a five star hotel. The best part for the group, was the activities that were provided. A day coach trip, coffee and wine tasting, quiz night to name just a few. It makes the life of an organiser so easy. We will return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ‘RoryCDonegal_Ireland’,

Thank you for this superb feedback and thank you also most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel for your group’s recent three day break.

I am delighted to read that your group had such a wonderful time with us. Thank you for your very kind praise of the hotel, particularly in relation to the in house activities we provide for all guests. All of these certainly do receive excellent feedback consistently along with the complimentary entry to the various city attraction and activity centers. Your feedback regarding the very high standard of bedrooms, the food quality and the ‘5 star’ service is very rewarding and most encouraging to read. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team who are so focused and motivated when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently. They certainly do make my job so much easier!

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our Group stayed in Galway Bay Hotel last w/e on a golf trip.The location was great,wonderful view of Galway Bay.The Staff were very courteous,efficient and more than helpful when required.Thanks to Michelle in Reservations who made all our arrangements without any fuss and indeed is a great ambassador for the hotel.Our English friends really enjoyed the hospitality at the hotel.The atmosphere around the place was great.Looking forward to going back in the summer for a visit.

Liam/Golf Group

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Liam,

Thank you most sincerely for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel for your recent Golf weekend. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the great location with wonderful views and the courteous efficient staff is very welcome and I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all on the team. Thank you also for mentioning Michelle, she is thrilled and passes on her heartfelt gratitude. I hope the golf was good also! we are surrounded by championship courses which are hugely popular with hotel guests.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A group of club members, who did not know eachother arrived at the Galway Bay Hotel for a 3 night stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The food, cleaniness of the hotel and kindess of staff were second to none. The Galway Bay Hotel prepared a full programme for our few days in the Hotel, which was brilliant - from Social & Old Time dancing, Aqua Aerobics, Wine tasting, Movie Classics, Table Quiz, Bingo to a complimentary day trip to either Connemara or the Burren & Cliffs of Moher. We could not recommend this Hotel highly enough and definitely will be back to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the Galway Bay Hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ‘SK2404’,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time and effort to share your views regarding your recent break here in the Galway Bay Hotel. I am delighted that you and indeed all in your group enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and we are a very popular destination for group gatherings for all of the reasons you outline. We do prepare programs to meet the various needs of each specific group providing numerous in house activities as you mention and also complimentary access to local attractions and activity centers around Galway which are all very popular with hotel guests. I will ensure your feedback is shared with all on the team through our structured in house Guest Feedback Log.

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed in the hotel last weekend for a relaxing weekend away.. Overall the stay was great. The staff were very friendly, especially Marguerite in the Calmer waters salon. She was extremely friendly and very helpful. The treatment itself was excellent and I will be back.
Hotel is In a lovely location.
Thank you again..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gerard,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this super feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am very happy that you found the staff to be very friendly and Marguerite is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium – she passes on her gratitude to you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.