We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galway Bay is OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Galway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Galway Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Galway Bay is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Now that I've returned from my trip, I realize that Galway Bay Hotel was fairly decent, especially considering the great price (Orbitz). However, a few things irked me.

For instance, there was no option to iron in the room, just an "ironing room" on another floor. The hairdryer cut off every few minutes, and the shower water was lukewarm at best. The staff at the front desk wasn't very knowledgeable when asked questions about the area. And finally, we received our wake-up call 50 minutes late - and there was no apology or even acknowledgement. We were on a time schedule, so this put us in a mad rush. All in all, it wasn't as relaxing as it could have been - the devil's in the details. The room was a nice size, though, and the Irish breakfast was lovely.

  • Liked — Location on the Galway Bay
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I am terribly disappointed to read your comments. As a team we have discussed this and all here would like to apologise most sincerely for any shortcomings you encountered. Since your stay here the hotel has invested heavily in a refurbishment plan and also a comprehensive staff training programme called "Exceeding Expectations". We have received many awards for excellence in last number of years for excellence in service and product. It is our collective aim now to try and regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel. If you wish to return to the hotel I would be delighted if you would drop me a line personally at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com
Kindest Regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    341
    162
    52
    24
See reviews for
467
567
64
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed here for a friends wedding.It was just for one night.Our room was over looking the sea, big comfy bed.Did not hear any noise from the wedding below.Food was delicious and staff very helpful.We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

My husband and two children (ages 6 & 10) stayed at the Galway Bay for 3 nights in August. It was wonderful! The great stuff: the kids club- our kids loved it. They would go from 10 am to 1 pm and then again in the evening from 6-11. They wanted to eat dinner at the kids
club! Which freed us to walk to Salt Hill and have a bite to eat. We
even explored Galway one evening with our cell phone numbers on file!
The lobby was great to hang out in and the front room of the hotel with views of the Galway Bay was gorgeous and quiet at times. One night, we ordered sanwiches and a couple of pints, played cards and watched the sunset! It was magnificent. The pub is fun. There was plenty of room and on Wed night, there was entertainment. There were plenty of places to sit inside or out throughout our stay. The room was large for a European hotel. We all fit comfortably even with the roll away bed. Make sure to ask for a room away from the amusement park in Season. The dining room for breakfast was great. Our kids really loved it and there was plenty of selection. The pool is small but functional.

If we lived in Irelande, we woudl make this a yearly destination!

  • Liked — The views! The kids club! High Tea! The pub!
  • Disliked — The pool!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed in Galway Bay Hotel for a week and found it lovely.
The rooms were confortable and large, and beds particularly comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent and staff couldn't have been more helpful.
There was a large wedding going on, on the day we checked in and we were initially worried that the party may wake us, but there was no noise or annoyance from the wedding.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

I work on the road and stay in the Galway Bay Hotel regularly (once a month approx). From my experiences of the hotels around Galway, the Galway Bay is the best option. The staff couldn't be friendlier, and the facilities are spot on (the beds are always comfortable).
Food is always of a high standard esp the breakfast. I have never checked out and felt dissatisfied on any level. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

Just back from a weekend in the Galway bay hotel. Initital impression was good, the lobby area is very nice etc. But, I have to say the room was just so "typical" and dated - it just stank of smoke and air fresherner overkill. The smell didnt disappate all weekend despite leaving windows open all day. The carpets are just so old fashioned - real typical "hotel style". And as for the bathroom! gammy white shower curtain - real cheap cheap cheap and the tiniest bath you have ever seen. Seriously. The rooms just oozed 1985 without any charm whatsoever. The housekeeping was terrible also. They literally made the bed. My night dress was just left on the floor in a bundle and they didnt even attempt to make it appear like they had tidied anywhere else in the room. Dont get me started on the leisure centre! The use of the words "leisure centre" to desribe it is ridiculous. It is a tiny pokey pool squashed into a room . Seriously the pits. With terrible dressing rooms. If I got a FREE weekend in the Galway Bey Hotel I wouldnt go back. The reason I say this hotel is "okay" and not "terrible" is that the staff were actually nice - its not their fault the amenities sucked. PS Breakfast also very lame. If you like a fry, great. But god forbit if you woukd like a choice!!!

  • Liked — Location on the promenade in Salthill
  • Disliked — The dated bedrooms, awful leisure centre and poor menu for breakdast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. Myself, and the team here in the Galway Bay are extremely disappointed to learn of your experience with us. I would like to apologize most sincerely and I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the Galway Bay Hotel. As you can see your experience is not consistent with the normal feedback we receive on a daily basis. I would be delighted if you
would drop me a line personally so as we can discuss and God willing I will get
the opportunity to regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel at
some stage in the future. My personal e-mail address is
dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

This is the first review I have ever given - but just had to say - Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break (2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal) the room which was a superior room had a lovely view of Galway bay and was the only thing I was happy with - I thought the room was small very ordinary and not what I thought we had paid for we paid €520 for our stay. The hotel is a 4 star which is laughable no way does it derserve this rating 2 - 3 star max. The food was very average - the dinner was very poor and tepid the cooked breakfast was terrible (there were broken egg shells stuck to the bacon and I couldn't eat the sausages there was a very strange taste from them! I was very disappointed with our stay in general and would not recommend it to anyone. Not worth the money, plus both nights there were not 1 but 2 weddings on both days - I was awoken on both nights by drunken wedding guests making there way back to there rooms.

  • Liked — View from bedroom
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. Needless to say, I am always extremely concerned when any guest leaves the hotel less than 100% happy. I would like to sincerely apologise for any shortcomings which you may have encountered during your stay with us and I would like to assure you that your comments are taken in the structured nature in which they are meant. I have shared your views with all of the team here and collectively we are all deeply disappointed as we do take feedback such as this very personally. It is our collective aim now to attempt to regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel. I would be delighted if you would drop me a line at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com regarding your stay with us. Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.