We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corrib Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Corrib Village to your Saves list
Corrib Village
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a cheap as chips, you get what you pay for stay. We took 2 whole apartments (there were 12 of us - each apartment sleeps 6 - a double bed, a twin bed room and two single bed rooms) in the same block for a weekend. It ended up being 40e each for 2 nights, which is great value but it ends there. The staff member who checked us in was the rudest, most unhelpful person we have ever met. Even though the rooms were paid for in full, keys would not be given unless a 150e deposit was taken. Visa debit was not accepted (we were asked for a credit card) so we had to pay cash. We had to fill in a sheet with full names and email addresses for each guest, and friends who were arriving later were refused keys and staff refused to tell our friends where our apartment was until they paid the deposit.
The apartments themselves are very basic and clean. A towel, soap and a sample shampoo were in each room. Shower/bathrooms were fine, basic. There is a bathroom with a shower and toilet and a room with just a toilet. I managed to lock myself out of my room a few times over the weekend as I was unfamiliar with having the card on me at all times in the apartment. Reception sent someone down straight away to open it for me.
The kitchen / living area is again basic, couches are not comfortable and can only sit 4 even though the apartment sleeps 6. One of the chairs at the kitchen table was broken. While it was kitted out with new delf and cutlery, there was no cleaning up products so we ended up buying some to ensure we left the apartment clean.
Breakfast is available in the reception area for €5 but we didn't avail of this.
The location itself is very good, very close to town and amenities.
During the year the accommodation is used by students, and we were treated as same by the staff unfortunately.
While it did the job for the weekend, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your recent review. Corrib Village does indeed offer basic, no-frills accommodation at very low rates and we are happy to hear that you feel it was good value. However, it is concerning that you were dissatisfied in terms of the customer service you received, as staff friendliness is an area on which we pride ourselves at Corrib Village. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed onto our team. In terms of deposits, as part of group bookings, a security deposit of €150 per apartment is required and all rooms must be registered for security reasons, hence we require all guests to fill out a registration sheet. Again, thank you for taking the time to help us improve our service.

Kind regards,

Máire Bríd Ní Ghionnáin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
15
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I found corrib village to be nice , clean and comfortable especially for the rate we paid.
Our bedroom was basic but comfy and clean and the kitchen was well stocked with all we needed , the wifi was powerful and nice to have . the shuttle bus was great to get into town as its about 20 min walk , all staff were friendly and accomodating . will return during the summer .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Many thanks for your positive review of Corrib Village. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we would be more than happy to welcome you and your friends back to Corrib Village later in the summer!

Kind regards,

Máire Bríd Ní Ghionnáin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked two nights at the Corrib Village. Booked a single room with double bed ensuite for 2 nights at €24 each night. Extremely good price!

Checkin was very slow. Front of house appears poorly trained. Our rooms were allocated at first with sharing bathrooms, then with only single beds, so was quite a lot of messing to get what we had actually booked. I know the price was only €24 a night but we only wanted what we booked. Eventually we were allocated the correct type of room. Overall front of house were friendly though.

Very uneventful stay after that. The rooms are basic. No frills as was expected. There was a TV, shampoo/showergel and towels supplied. The TV has the four Irish terrestrial channels. In the hall there was and iron and ironing board supplied.The beds were very comfortable. Cleaning appears to be an issue overall. Rooms were dusty and there was blood spattered down the wall along the sink in one of our rooms. There was evident damp in one of the rooms also. Bedclothes were clean and fresh.

There is a shuttle bus throughout the day which was handy, just be there to get in plenty of time as its only a small bus. But nevertheless a great service to get you into the city centre.

A continental breakfast was included in our rate, cant comment on this though as we didnt avail of it.

Overall a great value budget accommodation, that's frayed around the edges. Then again at €24 a night we were not expecting much.

Would recommend to others, but don't expect too much!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard and dont vary that much in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for a night in August 2012. It's about a 15-20 minute walk into town (which is a fairly pleasant walk through campus and in close proximity to the river/estuary).

Faciliites are very basic and in need of an overhaul. I was in an upstairs room which I would recommend as ground floor rooms had a damp/musty smell about them (or at least they did in my block).

Cleanliness was questionable. Clean sheets and towels were provided.

Ample storage was available.

The toilet/washroom facilities (in my case) were shared by the upper section of the building I was in (which is accessed via keycards). I think 3 rooms per section (so i guess up to 6 guests).

The washroom had definately seen better days and was in need of a refurb. It didn't appear to be very clean, with mould developing in corners etc.

There is also a communal area with sofa/tv.

In summary, it was 'ok'. I certainly wouldn't stay here with my wife if we were on a weekend trip, but if you're with a group of friends who want cheap accommodation and it's just 'somewhere to crash' then it's fine.

Breakfast is available most of the morning which is handy if you don't want an early start. Cereals, toast, juice is served here. Enough to get you started for the day at least.

If you fancy a full Irish breakfast, it's only a 20 minute walk into town where the choices are immense!

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place was good enough for two nights, it is basic its more of an Apartotel than a hotel, the rooms were simple, bed and shelving areas, bathroom was again basic but did the trick.

The continental breakfast thrown in was OK, cereals, toast, scones juices and fruit. Again, did the trick. We took two rooms for €70 in total, no hotel in Galway could offer this price!

I would return here for mini break, staff were very nice, especially Ross...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed with 4 friends in Corrib Village, we got a 4 bed apartment for 3 nights for the Galway Races. What great value, we had 2 bathrooms, kitchen / dining room / sitting room with tv. The apartment was basic but very clean and the kitchen had all you would need. There is a courtesy shuttle bus on the hour to and from Galway City and a bus to Galway Races for €4. There is 24 reception onsite, cafe, shop, playground, tennis courts and Leisure Centre (there is a fee for the leisure centre) great place if you want a cheap holiday with the children. Can be noisy as a lot of students and young people stay but if you can't handle the noise you can ring reception and they deal with it immediately. There is also facilities for washing and drying clothes but we didn't avail.

Room Tip: Its a big complex so you might ask for accommodation near the facilites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Corrib Village – as you mentioned, we are indeed the perfect choice for affordable accommodation in Galway, even during Galway Races. We provide 24 hour Reception cover and our staff are more than happy to assist with any noise complaints, or indeed any other queries that guests may have.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Corrib Village for Race Week 2013!
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Corrib Village was a nice facility, with private rooms and housekeeping daily. The main problem was its location. Even with daytime shuttles to Eyre Square, figuring out how to travel into the city centre was difficult and we often had to find cabs at off hours. There is a free breakfast offered, but it is sparse and does not offer much substance. Another issue was the bathroom; they were covered in water for most of our trip, and did not seem to be very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, should your problem with bathroom facilities have been brought to our attention we would have been delighted to have housekeeping attend to the situation immediately.
You mention that our location was perhaps not as you had expected – we believe our location is perfect for touring Connemara and Galway City itself - Corrib Village is a leisurely 15/20 minute walk, taking in the historic NUI Galway campus along the banks of the River Corrib, to the bustling heart of Galway city. We also provide a complimentary shuttle bus service from Corrib Village to Eyre Square which operates daily until 8.00pm.
Should you wish to discuss your stay further I can be contacted at (091) 527112 or at roisin@corribvillage.com
Kind Regards,
Roisin Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corrib Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Village

Address: Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corrib Village 3*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Village is the ideal base for exploring the West of Ireland and experiencing all that Galway has to offer. Located on the grounds of NUI Galway, at the edge of Connemara and only a FREE 10-minute shuttle bus away from the hive of activity that is Galway city centre, it is the perfect option for an activity-filled break away! Corrib Village offers basic, no-frills, affordable accommodation for both individuals and groups, who can choose to book on a room-only or B&B basis or opt for an entire, self-catering apartment. For those wishing to stay in Corrib Village on a nightly B&B basis, a light continental breakfast is included, which is available from 7:00am to 11:00am in the Village Square. Those who opt for an entire, self-catering apartment (which can accommodate up to 6 people) can enjoy the additional benefit of a living area with a fully-equipped kitchen and a TV with seating area. All bedrooms are supplied with clean linen and fresh, soft towels. Corrib Village offers a wide variety of on-site facilities such as a tennis court, soccer cages (extra charge applies), a coin-operated laundrette, a shop/eatery,FREE parking, FREE Wi-Fi, a BBQ area and a FREE shuttle bus service to/from the city centre. A tour booking service is also supplied. For family trips, cots and highchairs are available by prior request (extra charge applies). One of the biggest attractions of Galway itself is the array of vibrant and cultural festivals that take place during the summer months, such as the Galway Arts Festival, the Galway Races, the International Oyster Festival and the Film Festival. It is the place to be during the summer! So, don't miss out on your chance to soak up the atmosphere...Stay in Corrib Village and experience it all without breaking the bank! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corrib Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrib Village Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corrib Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.