We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Weir Hostel

Salmon Weir Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Salmon Weir Hostel to your Saves list
Salmon Weir Hostel
3 St. Vincent's Avenue | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hostel - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent hostel, good location, very welcoming and helpful staff, warm and homy. Cheap and nice for a good stay in Galway! common areas are very homy and the atmosphere is great. Rooms are small but clean and people are respectful of other's sleep. Overall very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
3
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends for 2 nights. When we first got there, they had got our booking wrong. We booked a 4 bed room, and instead were put in a 6 bed room. Absolutely tiny room with 3 bunk beds, which we were sharing with extremely rude people who did not speak a word of English. After asking about the booking we were refunded 20 euro, but had to stay in that room - we purposely stayed out late to avoid the awkwardness of the room. The second night we were put in the room we booked, which was better. However, there is a 3am curfew, and no door keys, so you have to ring a doorbell every time you wish to go into the hostel which was very annoying. The only positive thing was the location - very close to town. Also the staff were very awkward people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrive (girlfriend and I) all excited about our weekend trip away to Galway, so we decide beforehand to go all out and get a private room just for two people. We arrive to a excuse for a roof over your head! not to mention none of the locals could tell me where the place was in the first place! Terrible place so my advice to all holidaymakers is that there are plenty of other places to stay and PLEASE do not waste your money here! After a long argument with staff we got our money back and went elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed there two nights with a friend. The room was tiny, there was three bunk beds but I don't think 6 people would have been able to stand in the room at the same time, especially if they had any suitcase... The matresses were very bad, you could feel all the bumps in your back, and the beds were noisy. The shower wasn't great, it was changing temperature all the time. The hostel in general wasn't very clean. The staff was quite nice but I can't say it was great service: On our second day the girl, who had checked us in less than 24 hours before, said we had only booked for one night. We said no, two nights and that we both paid for two nights when we arrived. So I asked her a few times if she was looking at the right booking on the computer, she ignored me and called her manager, who didn't really get what was going on... after 2 minutes they realised they were looking at someone else's booking! I think it is way to expensive for what it is, and there is no breakfast! I paid less for better before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We last minute booked a night at the Salmon Weir after our previous booking was cancelled due to renovations. Sally was incredible friendly and helpful during during our stay. Location was great for the reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice staff and facilities, cramped dorm, i slept well though.
No breakfast included, wchich sucks,
Location is very central,close to bars and restorants
Very nice atmosphere, there are guitars and people get together during the evenings in comon areas o chat and drink,, if you are lucky , jam sessions.
The only thing i really hated it, it was the curfew at 3:00 am,
apart of that, it´s a good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at this Hostel a few times now, and have always been greeted by the friendliest of staff. The rooms themselves are teenie tiny and may scare off a person who loves space and firm pillows, but here you are paying for the convenience of being right in town. The shared bathroom was tidy and well kept, and the common area relaxing and welcoming (filled with guitars, games and books for anyone to enjoy). It is not wheelchair accessible, and children may not sleep well as the walls are thin. But if you are a solo traveller looking for conversation, or a married couple wanting an affordable space to sleep in your favorite city, Salmon Weir is a real bohemians place that offers a tiny bed at a great price (and always with a smile)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmon Weir Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Weir Hostel

Address: 3 St. Vincent's Avenue | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Salmon Weir Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Weir Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.