We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House Hostel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kinlay House Hostel Galway to your Saves list
Kinlay House Hostel Galway
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Merchant's Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place deserves its excellent reviews. The rooms were great, the staff really friendly, the breakfast spread was delicious and the facilities were really well planned out. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    83
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
40
70
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hostel felt like a hotel! Our room was really spacious and came with locker-drawers under each bed. The entire place feels spotless and seems really safe. The staff was really friendly, and the hostel is in walking distance to alot of main attractions. The train/bus station is a two min walk away and the hostel has lots of extras like towels, locks, etc available for purchase if need be! There was a ton of stuff to do, but we unfortunately only stayed for one night..I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great hostel to stay in. The rooms were nice and the staff was very nice. The only issue we had was the noise but it wasn't something that could really be helped. The sea gulls were so loud when you need to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hostel was very clean and very safe. The staff was so friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious, light, an. Breakfast was included in the price, which was fantastic. It is just off Eyre Square and a walking distance to most of the main attractions in Galway. It offers it's own tours and pub-crawls and offers discounts to those staying in regard to parking etc. There is a public car park right beside the hostel which is 9Euro max price per stay, with cheaper options available. Next time I go to Galway I will be staying here again, I couldn't recommend this hostel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found hostel staff friendly and lots of extras on offer eg iMacs, parking ticket reductions and more. Very central to Galway main attractions and Eyre square walking tours starting point. Family rooms were spacious and clean, as we're the toilet facilities. overall great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have only unadulterated praise for Kinlay Hostel. It was spacious, light, impeccably clean, the staff friendly, the facilities (including sexy Mac computers for communal use) excellent, the location perfect, and the overall atmosphere wonderful. Beyond that, Kinlay impressed me enormously by going out of their way to do me a personal favour: I spent only one night in the hostel, and managed to leave a favourite jacket in my room - Kinlay mailed that jacket to Yorkshire free of charge (though I asked many times to be allowed to transfer some compensation funds). They have certainly earned my appreciation and loyalty, and I hope to stay there many more times in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hostel is very clean and safe. The staff is really friendly and helpful, which is so refreshing after being at some other hostels. Location is great. They helped us arrange a coach back to Dublin and 2 day trips. A must stay if you're looking for a hostel in Galway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinlay House Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel Galway

Address: Merchant's Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay House Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square Galway!This newly refurbished Hostel reopened after extensive renovations in Jan 2012. Since then, Kinlay has been voted "Best Hostel in Ireland" and has also been voted as one of the Top Ten Hostels in the World.Kinlay caters for everyone from solo travellers to holiday groups. Over looking Eyre Square and with first class facilities its no wonder Lonely Planet Guide 2012 announced Kinlay Hostel as their "Top Pick" when staying in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House Hostel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.