We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel, Niamh is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kinlay House Hostel Galway to your Saves list
Kinlay House Hostel Galway
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Merchant's Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel, Niamh is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My favourite thing about this hostel was the lovely receptionist, Niamh (or however you spell it, the cute blonde girl). She is LITERALLY the most friendly girl in the industry I have ever met, you need to hold onto that one!!!!!!! She helped us with everything and was just so pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    83
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
40
70
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Azuga, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we say "hostel" most people think of a creepy dorm style hotel. I can tell you that Kinlay looks just awesome. Good looking, clean, nice employees, good break (not great, but it's enough) and the lounge is amazing. They have a lot of information regarding on what to see, info about tours, renting bikes, and so on.
It's not that the hostel looks good but the location is perfect, in the middle of everything.
So, if you're planning to se Galway, the coolest and the cheapest place to stay in is KinlayHostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We brought a large group of 24 college students to Galway from the States and we couldn't have had a better experience. The rooms were clean and neat. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Frank, the GM, helped us to arrange tours, recommended restaurants, and was a gracious and generous host. Some of the best features are the large gathering room, where we met so many wonderful people from all over the world, and the communal kitchen, where students on a budget could cook meals and where we cooked a large meal one night for our group and anyone else who was hungry. A great way to make life long friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Came here for St Paddy's weekend, and was super impressed -- fabulous location and friendly staff who were extremely helpful and great advice for how to make the most of our time in Galway, even though they were so busy for that time of year. The atmosphere is great too, fun but not rowdy, with a communal kitchen and a tv room. Breakfast in the morning is good too. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my 2nd visit (March, 2013) to Kinlay Galway and will not be my last. I brought a group of 107 international students and Kinlay was perfect for our needs! Quick check-in, hot showers with shower gel, clean / spacious rooms, and located in the heart of the city etc.

I cannot recommend Kinlay Galway enough. What really made the trip special was that Frank (general manager) has contacts for local catering. So we were able to get packed lunches upon arrival, and for our check out. This saved us an enormous amount of time. Because Kinlay Galway is so central it is also perfect for us to hire out local guides for walking tours. Kinlay is not just about groups. I will happily bring my family there. A brilliant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank O, General Manager at Kinlay House Hostel Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much Steve. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Frank O'Connell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great atmosphere, fun and helpful staff, price was perfect for a group of broke college kids on a budget. The facilities are clean and the location right off the city square gives you quick access to the pubs and bus depots. I can't say enough good things about this hostel, I slept like a baby last night, wish I were here for a few more days!

Room Tip: Prices range from 18euro for 4 preson rooms with a bathroom, to 15euro for 8 person rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

the first thing you will see when u enter the reception is a huge wall painting on the wall of the last supper, trying to find the one pice of item that didnt belong in the painting took some time but was worth it. the staff are great, really freindly and welcoming and the atmosphere in this place is just awesome. free internet and wifi, tv room and music instruments games whatever u need to hv a good time. its right in the heart of the town, have access to evrywhere. place is decorated very nicely, clean and fresh.

Room Tip: ask the staff, theyre amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinlay House Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel Galway

Address: Merchant's Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay House Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square Galway!This newly refurbished Hostel reopened after extensive renovations in Jan 2012. Since then, Kinlay has been voted "Best Hostel in Ireland" and has also been voted as one of the Top Ten Hostels in the World.Kinlay caters for everyone from solo travellers to holiday groups. Over looking Eyre Square and with first class facilities its no wonder Lonely Planet Guide 2012 announced Kinlay Hostel as their "Top Pick" when staying in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House Hostel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.