We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at the menlo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tripadvisor Secret Deal
Ranked #6 of 55 hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely time at the menlo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ate in the bar and from the second we walked in the door we were treated like royalty. 3 waiters looked after us all in their early 20s. One was better than the other pure class. Well done lads. Food was excellent. We will be back .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    169
    54
    15
    3
See reviews for
72
252
25
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable with nice amenities. About a five minute drive to downtown. Pub is average but staff is pleasant and helpful. Would stay again if I were back in the area. Bathroom has jacuzzi tub and large shower with adult size soap bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My 16 year old daughter stayed at the Menlo Park Hotel for one night on a recent trip to Ireland with other students and chaperones from her school. She bought a Claddagh ring while she was in Galway, but left it behind in her hotel room when they checked out the next morning. With low expectations, I sent an email to the hotel later that day, hoping that the housekeepers might have found the ring while cleaning the room and turned it in to the front desk. Twenty minutes later I got a reply that the ring had been found! They mailed it to our home in the United States, where it arrived a few days later, still in the box from the jewelry store! I would like to believe stories like this always turn out this way, but I doubt it. We are grateful to the staff at the Menlo Park Hotel for their honesty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just outside of town, about a 20-25 minute walk to the centre. Clean, comfortable rooms, large bathroom. Very helpfull staff, without being fake friendly which is always a bonus. Didn't eat in the restaurant but had dinner in the bar downstairs; Varied menu, lovely food, big portions and resonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose the Menlo Park Hotel during the week of the Galway Races because they were available and, comparted to other available hotels, their prices were the most reasonable. We had 2 rooms for our family, one of the larger king suites and one standard room with a queen + twin. I personally feel that my standard room had an updated bathroom (it was very pretty) but had older furniture and decor in the bedroom area. All items were functional. The king suite was very pretty and the bathroom was very beautiful. The hotel has no air conditioning; we were there during the summer heatwave and my room was rather warm at night however I did get a table top fan from the front desk which made the room more tolerable. The king suite was not as hot due to where the sun set and also it had 2 windows on opposite walls to help the air flow. The bar area was nice and the staff worked very hard and was very friendly. The food was very good. One night there was a disagreement among the locals and staff which resulted in a late night loud argument outside one of our rooms at 2 am. I'm not sure that we will stay at the Menlo Park hotel in the future but for this particular trip it served us well.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the risk of late night noise outside, ask for a room which the window does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

lovely hotel, lovely rooms, very comfy beds, excellent food, very friendly accommodating staff, what you would expect really from a 4 star hotel. we had a really pleasant stay here, the breakfast was excellent. i love the touch of putting water, chocolates and robes in your room. the hotel is situated about a mile from the town center, it's only about a 20 minute straight walk past some nice shopping parks, however a few times due to the weather we did resort to a taxi to and from town which seems to vary from about 6.5 euros to 10 euros which adds to the cost. the only thing that would stop me staying here again is that it is a bit pricey and we don't tend to spend a lot of time in the hotel and the location, that walk into town can be annoying if you are doing it a few times a day, so would look for something nearer the center of town but i would stay again thought

Room Tip: don't get a room over-looking the carpark can be noisy, with vans and deliveries early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Maureen

Thank you for your great review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
For information there is a bus service from right outside the hotel. This runs regulalry during the day. In addition in relation to the accommodation prices, we offer really excellent deals on the hotel website - especially off season, so please do keep an eye when you are planning to return.
Thanks again for the encouragement with your lovely comments.
Best wishes from all the team..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roundstone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

v v v clean hotel David , The Manager is ever vigilant and it shows ... nice room and good beds .. good food for tired travellers and the friendliness is refreshing will stay again handy parking / location for a walk to town / centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Celt57
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
David was Manager her until 2007 and since then it has been under the caring eye of Elaine Healy and her team who really appreciate your kind comments. We do hope to see you again when you are passing and thanks again for so kindly recommending us to your visitors from Italy.
Warm regards from all the team at The Menlo Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway
Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#6 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 70 quality rooms with 16 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menlo Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Menlo Park Hotel to your Saves list